2 weeks in...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Brescia
July 6th 2012
Published: July 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, I have been living in Brescia, Italy for exactly 2 weeks now and the time has flown by, but it also feels like I have been here for years. I think after this it will begin to get a little strange because it will start to hit me that this isn't a holiday, and I'm actually here for a while. To be exact, I'm here for 3 months, which maybe doesn't seem like a long time to some people, but I've never been far from home, even in University I was only an hours drive away. The pangs of homesickness have hit me a few times so far, but they are nothing a skype call and some cheap wine can't fix.

I am here in Brescia because I am taking part in a scheme that runs for Welsh citizens or those studying in Wales called the Leonardo Da Vinci programme. This gives people the opportunity to live abroad for 3 months and work at a placement that complements the individuals degree or studies.

My work placement is at the Brescia tourist information office (Comune di Brescia), which is located in the beautiful Piazza della Loggia. The architecture in this square is amazing, with the huge Palazza Loggia and Torre dell'Orologio (clock tower). Seeing as before I was granted the opportunity to take part in the LDV programme I worked at Selfridges in The Trafford Centre, my new place of work is a hundred million times better, both in location and in how I actually enjoy what I am doing here!

Throughout my stay in Brescia I will live in an apartment with 4 other girls; Anna, Cathy, Holly and Stella, and share a room with Holly. None of us had ever met before coming here, so not only were we in a strange new country, we were also spending every moment with people we didn't know. It seems a bit mad, but it has all worked out fine... so far! There is also another apartment around the corner from ours which is home to 4 others, Lukasz, Sion, Tom and Vicky.

On arrival I found getting around the city incredibly daunting as I cannot understand what any of the bus signs are saying, so therefore, do not know what direction they are travelling towards! However, after a lot of exploring, I now feel quite comfortable. Yesterday during work I travelled from the Piazza della Loggia to Piazzo Arnaldo, and then up to the Castle. This was quite a walk and up a very steep hill so on reaching the top I had to sit down at a cafe and get myself a drink. The view from up there is gorgeous though and it's a really nice way to see the city. In a moment I am going to go out and venture towards the west of the city, visiting Museo Diocesano Brescia on my way.

I will leave writing for now so that I can be on my way. More soon of my insane nights out here, meetings with the University students and young people of Brescia and surrounding areas, football craziness and language troubles!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb