The sights and sounds of Desenzano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Bergamo
March 20th 2009
Published: March 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A lonely road in Desenzano A lonely road in Desenzano A lonely road in Desenzano

While lugging around or suitcases for an hour, I took the opportunity and took some photos!
The first three days of our holiday was jam packed with Lazy touristic things to do, which we were keen to change! We had decided to spend one night in the town of Desenzano del Garda. This was highly contrasting to our days in Milan as everyone was even more relaxed than the people we’d met in Milan! This was down to Desenzano being a lake town, which naturally combined with the sunshine promotes relaxation and laziness. Once we eventually found our hotel we were disappointed that we were only staying here for one night, as it was simply fantastic!

We set off out to tour the lake town and eventually made our way the peninsula of Sirmione. Just like Desenzano and Milan everyone looked rich and healthy which was something which puzzled us! How do the Italians on their diet of Pizza, Pasta and Ice Cream stay so trim? We had seen no evidence of exercise…
There were wonderful souvenirs here, which made it the ideal place to buy presents for my friends back home. I saw the largest chocolate bar that I have ever seen, which looked like Cadbury's Fruit and nut but was possibly at 20 times
We know where we are!We know where we are!We know where we are!

Jasper and Ben always too proud to ask for directions, try and work out where we are, and how to get to our hotel
the size!

We were given half an hour to tour the town of Sirmione, so as the others were sitting in a bar enjoying the Italian beer and sunshine, I decided to do some shopping and bought my girlfriend a belt with a butterfly buckle made out of a crystal like material. Whilst I was looking for presents my friends had informed me that they were walking to Sirmione castle and I let them know that I would catch up with them. My poor sense of direction failed me once again and I found myself lost in a town I hardly knew!! Fortunately the castle was impossible to miss, a wonderful piece of architecture which can be seen from miles around! I was able to wait outside until my friends returned. From here we headed to a park to play some football and eat even more Ice Cream! With the weather so wonderful, we were the
only ones playing football! So, how do the Italians remain so fit?
A question I guess will remain a mystery until the next time I go to Italy…



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

We'll guess the right way!We'll guess the right way!
We'll guess the right way!

By now we were totally lost, but trying to stop passing cars was always a good idea!
Hill top viewHill top view
Hill top view

We may be lost, but one more photo can't hurt, its too nice not to!
The port itselfThe port itself
The port itself

This picture captures the beatiful weather
Our boatOur boat
Our boat

This is the vessel, a great specimen of machinery that took us from Desenzano all the way to Sirmione.
Port DesenzanoPort Desenzano
Port Desenzano

After leaving our hotel we stop to admire the Port of Desenzano


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb