Genoa (or Genova, whichever you prefer)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Genoa
July 1st 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Piranhas in GenoaPiranhas in GenoaPiranhas in Genoa

at the very cool aquarium in the city
I came to Genoa planning on only passing through for one night and then continuing on to Cinque Terre the next morning. I decided to slow down a bit and stay for another night and spent all yesterday wandering around Genoa getting a feel for the place. Getting here was a bit of a hassle however. The train from Venice to Milan was full so I had to stand the whole way (2.5 hours), and the train from Milan to Genoa was late. It also didn't take me all the way to the stop in Genoa I needed. So I had to switch trains after asking one conductor from my first train where I needed to be to get to Genova-Brignole. He said I needed a different train and that he didn't know which one to get on. When I got on the other train guess who was standing right inside the door....of course, it was the conductor, who knew the entire time which train I needed to be on but didn't tell me. Oh well, got here ok I guess. I stayed at the Essialle Bed and Breakfast, which was the only place with vacancy at the time I booked. It turned out to be an great place. Paula, the owner, was very nice and didn't even get angry when I arrived at 11:15pm that first night and woke her up.

I spent the day yesterday checking out Genoa. I went to the aquarium in the morning, had some foccacia for lunch (a Genoan speciality), and walked to a few of the sights in the afternoon. Genoa is a port city and birthplace/ home of Christopher Columbus. They have actually saved his original home which is now surrounded by enormous buildings, but still cool to see.

I'm catching the train to Cinque Terre in a bit after having breakfast at the B&B this morning with Pat and Don, an astrophysicist from Hilo, HI. They were both very nice and gave me their guide book for Cinque Terre. I'll be there for two nights and am planning on hiking either later today or tomorrow. I also plan to do a little swimming and kayaking if I get the chance. There are apparently many sea caves that you can explore by kayak along the base of the cliffs. I'll check in again when I'm in Nice, France, which is the
Christopher Columbus' HouseChristopher Columbus' HouseChristopher Columbus' House

yes really, they saved it and it's now surrounded by enormous buildings, but it's still there
day after tomorrow.

Of course when I try to upload pictures using this computer (in a cafe near the train station) it won't allow me too again. I'm hoping I can use one sometime soon that will let me upload some as these blog entries are kind of dry with out the pictures to go along with them. I'm up to 450 pictures total now, so I have a lot to show you all. Till next time..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb