It's a small world after all


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Cinque Terre
April 13th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Picture this. A teeny tiny town on the coast. Population of 500 or so. One hostel. And who do I run into? A bloke I knew in high school! Small world or what??!!
Ah, Cinque Terre. One word- postcard. Seriously. What you see in the pictures is exactly what you get, and ten times better in real life. It's unbelievably beautiful. And the weather I had whilst there was to die for. Perfect for the 12km hike from one town to the other, which got progressively harder between one town to the next, and left my calves feeling mighty sore the next day!!
Let me just clarify. Cinque Terre = 5 seaside villages perched on sheer clifftops on the Ligurian Coast, North-Eastern Italy. Perfect blue sea. And swarming with Americans- what the? I figure there must have been some major ad campaign in the US, promoting this area, 'cos it seems that everyone I met was a Yank. Hmm...
Anyways, it's well worth promoting- each of the houses in the towns is a different colour, and each looks like it will fall into the sea at any minute. Don't know how they built those things, but tell you what, I'd be scared to live there (although it would be heavenly, besides the lack of anything to do all day!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb