The Papal Audience


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio
October 1st 2014
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

___

_
Geo: 41.9023, 12.4581

Today I saw the Pope. I don't even know what to say about it.

It was an early start to be at Vatican City at 7.30am. Pilgrims start arriving at 5.30am to get a good seat. I wasn't sure what to expect so joined a tour group of 10 to try to get the best seat and was provided some background about Pope Francis and the Vatican before the Pope's arrival. I was in my seat by 8.30an with the Pope due at 10.30am.

Pope Francis is the people's favourite, is very sociable and this is causing chaos. Every year the Pope holidays in July/August however Pope Francis chose against that this year do the Papal Audiences have continued, requiring the tour guides to continue working through the blistering summer. He loves the people.

I had read attendance is 30,000 although the tour guide today said 100,000. I'm not so sure about that. The crowd is mental with even nuns pushing through to get a good spot. Babies are thrown in front of the Pope for blessing.

This Pope is totally spontaneous and must cause his security much grief. He arrived at 9.20am today to much surprise and toured the crowd for 30 minutes at least. Security is minimal. I was probably 25 metres from him I guess. Not at all what I expected.

Pope Francis then gave his message to the crowd in Italian. The girls next to me translated, particularly the jokes! The message is then translated into about 8 languages and visiting countries are welcomed.

Recently wedded couples attend in their bridal attire to be blessed on the Dias as a married couple.

It was an outstanding morning. Without doubt the best part of my trip. It was quite overwhelming. I have found a video of the day at http://www.romereports.com/pg158521-live-broadcast.

I went back to join G for the afternoon and had a nap after lunch. Lovely dinner before retiring for the night, with an exciting day running through my mind.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb