Io indietro, mi dispiace! I'm behind and I'm so sorry!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Viterbo
October 27th 2009
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ciao tutti!
I must admit that the business of Italian life and school has gotten the better of me, I've not blogged in what seems like forever, and it definitely has been too long! However, this week I've two tasks I've set for myself before two friends and I set off for Madrid this weekend: Study for my Italian Language 1 Final for Thursday, and hopefully get some work done on my journals and blogging... We shall see how that goes!
A big apology on my part for slacking off, and I hope you all are doing very well back home in the states!

Arrivederci!

alix




Recap of the end of September!!


• First cappuccino during geography class. I’m officially in Love. We bought our own coffee for the apartment, so we have been saving quite a few euro, and of course, getting a bit more studying in… (that’s right mom, studying)
• Sound of Music Smorgesbord!!!
One night we invited over a big group of people for a potluck and a showing of Meredith and I’s favorite movie, “The Sound of Music.” In preparation for Meredith and a few of the other girls’ trip to Salzberg and Vienna in November (they’re lucky enough to get to go on the actual Sound of Music TOUR, in which they take you to all the filming locations, etc!!! so jealous…) and we had a great turnout. Being complete dorks and having seen the movie well over twenty or thirty times, Meredith and I were very excited, we were even able to send out our invites via facebook, haha. All night we enjoyed food and chatted, and then watched the 3.5 hour movie. (How do I not remember that the movie was so long?? Ah the joys of being completely oblivious and/or enraptured by musicals at nine and ten!) For some it was the first time ever watching it. Needless to say we were quite shocked and made sure that everyone enjoyed their time. I think everyone did, err, that is to say all the girls did… Scott, on the other hand, was a very good sport, although I’m sure he had the least fun of all. Either way, our Sound of Music Smorgesbord was a complete blast!
• Tarquinia Field Trip- One Friday, the Italian Cities (class about the growth and building of cities from ancient times until now) class went on a field trip to Tarquinia, a small city located on the Mediterranean Ocean, only about an hour East from Viterbo. Tarquinia is home to the National Etruscan Museum, as it was founded in pre-Roman times by the Esruscans and is known for the underground “cities” of the dead, their tombs were not much unlike the Egyptians, and we were able to see some amazing stone work and art.
• Having now been here for two months and having almost finished an entire semester of Italian language classes in 8 weeks, its safe to say that I have learned quite a bit of the italian language, however, not nearly enough to easily converse with Italians or feel confident in speaking. It is quite frustrating to still feel stupid in terms of communication! However this week brings out first 8 week Italian course to a close (final on Thursday, yikes! Wish me luck!) and we will begin our next 8 week course next week.






The rest is yet to come, very soon I hope! Ciao!


Advertisement



10th March 2010

Hi! I really enjoyed reading about your USAC experience so far. I was googling information about it and your blog came up. I will be attending the USAC Viterbo program this coming fall and I am so excited! Did you continue with the blog?
10th March 2010

Jordan- I had some technical difficulties with my computer while in Viterbo... so no, that was the last of my blogs. Quite unfortunate, really, but I'm working on getting all of my things off of my computer, and hopefully there will be more up soon. Feel free to ask any questions, you'll be there fall 2010??? Ooh I'm so jealous, you'll have so much fun!! If you want, here is my email: acferguson@fortlewis.edu Alix

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb