Over it


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 22nd 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Villa Borghese01 Villa Borghese01 Villa Borghese

This is the outside of the Villa Borghese Museum and Art Gallery.
Geo: 41.8955, 12.4823

Today I was feeling over it, had another great sleep-in in the quiet, dark, cool dorm room. Slowly walked to Villa Borghese. A large park with lakes, villas and a zoo. I was here for my 1pm session at the Borghese Musuem and Gallery. Visitors are allowed in every two hours for two hours. I was early, so I sat in the shade and wrote some postcards. I was feeling too lazy to do anything before my visit. At 1pm I went into the Musuem and Gallery. There are two floors, one of paintings and one of sculptures. The first section I went to was the sculptures. These was also a Raphael exhibition on and on both floors there were many of his paintings, mainly portraits. Some of the well known works were; a statue by Canova of Napoleon's sister posing as Venus, it shocked her husband and he locked it away, a statue of David by Bernini, his face is modelled on his own and his facial expression is amazing, Apollo and Daphne, also by Bernini, of the sun god Apollo turning Daphne into a tree, the Rape of Proserpine, by Bernini shows Pluto abducting his bride, the fingers and the grabbed flesh look so real, quite amazing. The Sleeping Hermaphrodite is well known, a statue of Hermaphrodite sleeping, its half male, half female, child of Aphrodite and Hermes. The paintings upstairs were okay, there were a few Caravaggio, Titian and Rubens.
Still not in the mood for sightseeing, I relaxed in the gardens for a while. Then walked towards the hostel and ate a late lunch at a restaurant. Went to my room and saw the mess under my bed and decided to leave it for later. Spent some time at an Internet cafe and began to plan my next country.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb