When In Rome...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 20th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Rome late this morning; ready to be off the train. We had a rough start as well. As we went to take the metro to the hostel, the doors closed right after Molly got on. We were both dumbstruck and worried about what to do. Luckily Molly thought quick enough to mouth next stop through the window just before it took off. I hopped on the next metro train and got off at the first stop and as soon as Molly and I saw eachother we hugged. It was like those movies where the couple who has not seen eachother in years runs in slow motion in an overexaggerated embrace. So relieved, we went for the next metro out. However, as Molly was getting in before me, the doors closed on her backpack. I kept saying 'No Moly. Molly!' and eventually between my pulling and her backing up we got her out before we repeated the same incident.
The long day of travelling combined with the metro incident stressed Molly and I out so Molly and I decided to just go shopping, get dinner, get an idea of the city, and go site seeing the next day. We weren't too impressed with the shopping (except for an initimissimee store- my favorite new line at victoria's secret). However, we ate dinner in this neighborhood and found out we were close to the Fontana de Travesti and also what my amazing travel book reported shop that supposedly had the best gelato in Paris. So at the Fontana de Travesti I threw in my two coins backwards as the tradition goes (I was so afraid of missing and hitting someone, but I did fine). So, according to the tradition, my first coin was supposed to cause me to return to Rome quickly, and the second was supposed to make me fall in love in Rome (not a bad plan if you have ever seen some of the gorgeous Italian boys there). Then, of course, on to the gelato! Although it was not the best gelato we had in Rome (that would be the next day) it was good. Defeated, (although gelato makes everything a little better) Molly and I headed back to our new hostel and took showers. (They were hot and we didn't have to keep pressing a button to make the water run!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb