Rome Day 3


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 2nd 2015
Published: May 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today was another gorgeous day. The sun was out and the temperatures hit a high of around 70. The only negative thing is that something in the air is triggering my allergies. I may have to find a pharmacy and get an antihistamine. This morning I took the train to Ostia Antica, the old port city of Rome. It is about an hour away. Similar to Pompeii, Ostia was buried (by river sediments) and forgotten until excavated fairly recently. It was a working-class port town and archaeologists have been able to reconstruct something of what life must of been like there during the first two centuries A.D., or so. I walked down the main street (see picture) and visited some of the ruined buildings. These include the baths (see picture), a mill with millstones (see picture), the theater complete with modern audience today (see picture), and a sort of café with me leaning against one wall (see picture). The museum has many statues that were excavated in Ostia (see picture), but they are all rather badly damaged. I ate lunch at the modern cafeteria and then caught the train back to central Rome. From there I took a taxi to see the art at the Borghese Galleries. Rick Steves led me astray because he said that photography is not allowed at the Galleries, so I didn't bring my camera. It turns out that only flash photography is forbidden. Oh well, I enjoyed walking through this once private art collection that includes several masterpieces by Caravaggio, Bernini, and others. I'm just sorry that I don't have pictures to show you. I walked downhill through the gardens to the Spanish Steps and thought that I would get a drink from the famous boat fountain. But there was actually a line of people waiting their turn to get a drink, so I didn't bother. I took the subway back to my hotel and now it is time to go out for a spaghetti dinner.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb