The reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 4th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

3 weeks, I can't believe it's already been almost 3 weeks. I have pretty much forgotten the meaning of the days of the week. I only know that today is Friday b/c I'm on the computer. This morning my travel companions Corissimo and Pagmina departed north to Venice in route for Munchen to fly home tomorrow. I now begin my 11 day solo adventure. Tonight I will take a train from Rome to Bari, tomorrow I will take an overnight ferry from Bari to Corfu, Greece. Apparently the night life out there is surreal and I plan on determining that first-hand.

This past week has been crazy! With school out of the way we got to vacation anywhere we wanted. So We took a day tour/adventure out to fairy tale castle in germany. While out there I took a 25 minute paraglide trip. I loved it! That night we took a night train to Interloken, Switzerland. We arrived at our hostel, Balmers, and then took a short train up to the beautiful Grinderwald. There we hiked and took a 2 hour nap on a grassy hill halfway up the alps ... absolute relaxation. The next day Cory and I went for a full day of "canyoning", which consists of traveling down a river in a canyon, jumping off of 40 foot cliffs, repelling down waterfalls and sliding down 50 foot slides of bolders. Absolute madness! The next day Cory and Paige took a went out to Cinque Terre and I stay in Switzerland for another day of extreme sports. I went glacier climbing and zorbing (where you get in a hamsterball and roll down a hill). I then was supposed to meet them in italy but got on the wrong train and ended up in bolonge instead of cinque terre. We met up in Rome the next day instead. We ran around to ridiculously crowded Rome for 2 days and that gets us to now ... I have plenty of pictures just can't upload them at these internet cafes ... oh well.

Ciao!

Advertisement



4th August 2006

told you
you would love interloken...shame you missed cinque terre, did they say how it was? was it too hot right now?
7th August 2006

FUN!!!
Sounds like a great time there!!! I figured you would have a journal somewhere, so I was checking out the ole myspace and there it was...enjoy the rest of your trip...hope to see ya soon!!!
7th August 2006

cinque terre
Corissimo and Pagmina said Cinque Terre was as great as everyone said it was, but yes, very very hot. Maybe on my next 5 week european adventure I'll make it there ... no worries, I'm in Corfu, Greece now at The Pink Palace ... let the games begin!!!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb