Thanksgiving Break/Visits


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
December 5th 2012
Published: December 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone! I know it has been awhile since my last blog, but I have been so busy. I will go back to Thanksgiving break, which started the day before Thanksgiving. That Wednesday, I had a nice day to myself and decided to go to Porta di Roma which is a shopping mall in the suburbs of Rome. It totally reminded me of the USA, and I was able to get some nice stuff. Most people were traveling, so there were only a few people left on campus. Luckily my friend Gigi was around, and we hung out most of Thanksgiving day. Most of the day we did jobs like cleaning each other's rooms and getting ready for our night. At night, we had an amazing meal for Thanksgiving with the handful of people that were left on campus.... Pizza of course! That night was nice because I was able to go home and chat with my family as they were eating dinner (due to the time difference). The following day, I decided to go off on my own and explore the city a little before my Mom came. I went to the Pantheon and Coliseum just to get more of a sense of direction in the city center. Saturday morning, I was so excited as I made my way to the airport to pick up my Mom. It was her first time in Italy, and she was so excited when she landed. I took her to the hotel, she got settled in, and we started right off the bat with the Coliseum and Roman forum. After doing those major sights and eating, she needed some rest and we went back to the hotel to meet her friends (one from Zurich and another from Prague) who came to Rome to spend time with her as well. We had a great week together. My Mom's Italian friend has all of her family in Rome, and they took us to some great and very authentic pizza places. They also invited us over to eat one night at their apartment, which was a really great experience. I haven't been to any Italian homes since I have been here, so it was a good cultural experience. During the week we got to see all the main sights of Rome, and spent a really fun day in Florence (although it was pouring the whole time!). Thursday, I needed to go to school (since I had missed the whole week) and my Mom got a nice chance to go shopping at Via del Corso and get some gifts. Friday morning, I dropped my Mom off at the airport and she flew back home. I waited in the airport, and then my friend Ana (Cookie) flew in. There I was again, back to doing all the same sights over again! She got to see all the main sights of Rome over the weekend, and we had a great time. This week so far has been crazy and full of essays and projects. Starting Saturday, I have finals. So for now, I am enjoying a few days of less work before studying for finals all of next week. I can't believe that next Friday is my departure date... the time is counting down. I have to say, this has been amazing experience but I am ready to get home for the holidays. I will try to blog one more time while I am here. Thanks for reading!

Advertisement



9th December 2012

Great blog
It's so good to hear about your adventures. I know your family is excited about your return to the US in time for Christmas. Love, Aunt Maryann

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb