So it's the end of week 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 28th 2012
Published: October 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So it's the end of week two...







I am knackered and have spent most of this week in the flat. Though it is lovely to have somewhere I can stay in with some of my things, occasionally wifi, and be horrendously lazy. Work is going well and I'm slowly understanding more and more of the language.







When I say work is going well, so far I'm only watching and trying to learn the language, sitting in on workshops is interesting to see how things are done differently and also similarly to home. The kids are absolutely lovely, they are all very excited to practise the English that they have learnt in school and they're all very eager for me to understand them in return. Having the opportunity to work with children with learning disabilities is also quite a new experience. It's very inspiring as the children I've had the chance to work with have so much excitement and passion for drama and performing, it's extremely infectious!





I got the news that I am a big cousin again this week!! Eva Mary Gallagher was born on Thursday which is so exciting and also makes me very home sick!! Very proud of my Uncle Jim and Auntie Katie!





It's very nice to go out for drinks and meals in Rome! The food is amazing and my flat mates are so much fun!!





Yesterday we had a lazy morning with pancakes for brunch before heading down to san giovanni which was incredibly spectacular. A cathedral that was the head of the RC church before the pope moved to the vatican city. We then wandered down for another view of the Colosseum before heading back and passing a gorgeous little church at the side of the nunnery. When passing san giovanni before heading home, we almost ran into a political protest.Apparently they're quite a regular occurance here with people being very active about their political parties and rallies.

The temperature has dropped and it's starting to feel like autumn; chilly, windy and a tiny bit of rain! Still thankful that I'm here and not in England weatherwise!!

Looking forward to my second week at work and hope I can get started on my projects soon enough!!

Miss all of you at home!! Keep in touch 😊 xx

Advertisement



28th October 2012

So proud of you
Missing you too but so proud of our daughter. Enjoy every moment! Mum and DadXXX

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb