Starting out in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 19th 2012
Published: October 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello All

I havn't had a lot of time so far to update facebook and such and there is so much to tell everyone that I thought I'd give this whole blog thing a try!!

My first week in Rome has been an interesting one!! There's been stress and learning and sightseeing and much excitement!! So...

I'm living in a flat which is a two bedroom four bed apartment in a traditional sort of european style with tiled floors and high ceilings. There are currently three of us here all from the UK which is lovely! There were meant to be four of us but due to some drama we are three till Sunday night, when a Romanian girl will join us.

So far we have been having language classes every morning 9.30am till 1.30pm when we turn from students to tourists!!!

Rome is a beautiful city!!! If it wasn't for ALL the tourists I would be more than head over heals with the place! Fortunately I will be here long enough to spend an occassional morning in the city at pre tourist time!

So far we have been to see the colloseum, the pantheon, the spanish steps, the trevi fountain, the piazza de navona, st. maria in trastevere, capitoline hill, the roman forum, piazza del popolo and circus maximus!! But we've only been inside the pantheon so far!! Even so, I am knackered!! Lot's more to do!

Learning Italian is definitely a struggle but seeing as I start work on Monday there's no time to worry! I'm definitely looking forward to getting stuck in at Emporio delle Arte.

The food is amazing, I've tried the piaza, I've tried the pasta and I have definitely tried the ice cream!!! Sacher tort flavour gelato is amazing!! More than makes up for the fact that I missed my chance to actually try sacher tort in Vienna! Olives are everywhere and taste amazing, thankfully supermarket shops are quite cheep so when we want to treat ourselves to a meal out we can definitely afford it!

Right now I'm sat in our kitchen (cucina) with my two new housemates discusing the amazing qualities of tea!! Though this week our morning tradition has been to go to a local coffee shop and drink whatever the lady behind the bar decides to make us! This morning our mocha coffee shot thing gave me a sugar/coffee rush for a good half hour during Italian class.

Hopefully now I've made a blog my posts will be more interesting and regular but I just thought I'd start with an update while I try not to drop off to sleep before making dinner!!

I'd be lying if I said I miss England already but I am definitely missing the people! You all need to move to Rome for 8 weeks please?

xxx

Advertisement



20th October 2012

Rome
So glad to hear you are enjoying Rome - Sean and I loved every minute and in the 5 days we were there we seen a lot but I am sure we missed a lot too. Many of the back street churches look totally incognito from the outside but step into them and WOW they are totally out of this world! We arrived at the Vatican half an hour before it opened and the queue was already 3 miles long - fortunately we were booked on a guided tour so we got to jump the queue and go straight in - highly recommended if you can afford it - not only do queue jump you also have the full history of everything rather than having to work it out for yourself x Italian tours are so advanced in the fact that they use personal commentary headphones so you don't even have to stay with the group you can wander off take photos and still hear what is being said - recommended for the Colosseum as well x

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb