Rome, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 17th 2012
Published: November 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris, France to Rome, Italy


Rome...what a historical & wonderful city to visit. This is my second trip here, and I mainly came back with two goals in mind which was to view the underground of the Colosseum, and to mail myself a postcard from Vatican City.

Upon arrival, I have no trouble finding my hostel, for I have stayed in the same hostel before. I was familiar with the surroundings, so off I went to the Colosseum. I had originally booked a tour of the Colosseum on my arrival day, but I did not think after I booked that I could make the time slot, so I booked the next day as well. Lucky for me, my train arrived early, and after checking into my hostel, I made my way to the train station, and then to the Colosseum. I was actually going to make my first tour. Woo-hoo. I do not like losing money for one, but the anticipation was really mounting, for I could hardly wait to get there. When I was here last in 2010, they opened up the tour to the underground a few months after my visit. I have wanted to come back ever since.

I was able to skip the line, and I went right up to the ticket window. They had my information on file, so off I went to the meeting point. I had a little time, so I walked around the first level of the Colosseum. What a wonderful sight. Anyway, I went back and started the tour. A few minutes into the tour, my tour guide told us that this was not for the underground nor the upper tier. I was bummed. I was thinking to myself that I booked the wrong tour. After an insightful discussion and tour of the main area of the Colosseum, I explained my situation to the tour guide. She told me she thought she could help me. She walked with me to the ticket office, explained my situation, and for a small amount of money, I could take the complete underground tour. The only issue was that it was starting in a few minutes. I thought this would not be a problem, for I was willing to run if I had too. I purchase my ticket, and off I go to the next meeting point. Just in time. I had only been there for a very short time, and the guide started the tour. We had to go through a previously locked gate and down some stairs. The beginning of the tour took us to where the they would take out the dead. Kind of an eerie feeling walking through the passage way knowing the thousands of dead that were taken out this same way. Anyway, we walked out to a platform that was built that overlooked the main Colosseum floor. It was actually partially on the Colosseum floor. What a feeling when I walked out and looked up to the different levels of the Colosseum. I could only imaigne how this place must have been when it was full of people screaming for blood. Next, we went down to the bottom of the Colosseum. The guide explained to us how the slaves used to operate the lifts that took the animals up to the main floor. We were able to see where the gladiators and slaves would have stayed. Pretty neat feeling. We make our way back out, and next we go to the top of the Colosseum. This was mainly where the lower class people would sit. Actually, this was a pretty amazing view from up there. After gazing at the main area of the Colosseum and taking some photos, we make our way back down to finish the tour. What a joy this was to experience.

I preceed to go to Palatine Hill to look around. I did not fully do this on my last visit, so I wanted to really get a feel of how and where the people lived. I walk around these ruins for a couple of hours, and then I decide to head towards the Trevi Fountain to throw a coin over my shoulder which represents a safe return to Rome one day. Upon arrival there, it is very crowded, but if you want to get close to the fountain, you just have to inch through the crowd. Eventually you can get there. If not, just make your own way through the masses by saying excuse me. Seems to work okay for the most part. Anyway, after looking around for a bit, it is time to go so I fill my water bottle at the fountain, and I make my way to the Spanish Steps. I sit for a bit , and I saw one of the most beautiful sunsets while there. I tried to photograph as the sun was going down, but I am not sure the pictures will do the actual sight justice. Breathtaking memory. As it was getting dark, I decided to head back towards the hostel. Long and tiring day, however it waas quite satisfying.

I awake on the next day in full anticipation of everything I had plans on doing on this day. I make my way to the Colosseum for my second tour. The tour was very similiar to the one I had taken previously, however the guide gave me a little more insight of the history of the Colosseum. I depart and head towards Vatican City. When I arrive at Vatican City, I see the masses gathering around St. Peters Square. As was the last time I was here, there were a lot of people in this general area. My main objective was to find the post office. I was not sure if it was actually inside the Vatican, so I decided to walk around and look for it instead of getting in line with the masses to tour the Vatican. I did this previously, and although it is very beautiful, I was not here to do that. I locate the post office at the corner of the exit of the Vatican, and I proceed to go in. I purchase two post cards, write a little something on them and address to my family, and I que up in line to buy stamps. This was an objective of mine, for Vatican City is the smallest independent state in the world by both area and population. I just thought this would be cool to send myself a postcard from here. Anyway, I purchase my stamps, and they tell me where to deposit the postcards. I drop them in one of two yellow mail drops, and now I am satisfied. If I do nothing else in Rome, I accomplished my two tasks. I decide to break for lunch, so I find me a place to sit, and I eat a piece of toast I got from the morning breakfast at the hostel. I told myself I was breaking bread at the Vatican.

I depart form the Vatican, and I decide to walk back instead of taking the public transportation. What better way of really seeing the city I thought. I find my way to the Pantheon. My last trip here, the oustside was having some repair work done to it. This time, it looked spectaculiar. I went in and made some photos,and then I head in the direction towards my hostel. I walk for a little while, and I sit and rest overlooking the Rome Capital building. Beautiful structure this is. Since this building is very close too, and I still have my entrance pass to the Roman Forum, I decide to walk through them. The pass entitles the bearer to tour of the Colosseum, Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. I spend about an hour here walking around these ancient ruins, and not much more for I had done this previously, and I decide I need to go ahead and head back because it starts to rain. I did not really feel like doing much else, for I did not really want to walk in the rain, so I decide to head back to the hostel where I can dry off. I walk back by the Colleseum for one last look, and back on the train to the hostel I go. I have a busy day tomorrow, and I want to assure I am well rested, so I turn in for the night. What another wonderful experience in Rome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 209, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb