First Week with the Bambini


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 11th 2012
Published: September 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

AliceAliceAlice

First day of school
I'm not enrolled in the language school yet but that does NOT equate to a lack of acquiring knowledge in Rome.

A list of things I've learned this week:



1.) It took me 20 minutes to find eggs at the grocery store because they are not kept in the refrigerated section

2.) Biscuits are cookies. Why the heck are the kids eating biscuits for breakfast? There chocolate chips in them for goodness sake. IT'S A COOKIE!

3.) Two options for bottled water. Gas or No Gas.

4.) Peroni is basically Italy's Bud Light. Low class.

5.) Microwave popcorn is not a thing here.

6.) Lucia irons the kids PAJAMAS. Who are they trying to impress in their dreams? Whatever, I don't want to hear about it.

7.) I look very American.

8.) All Italian women are rail thin without ever stepping foot in a gym. Jealous.

9.) Matteo has a morbid curiosity of death. He told his Nonno (grandpa), "Whatever Nonno, you'll be dead when I'm an adult."

10.) Alice is a popular, perfectionist, blonde, blabber mouth.

I'm so glad I got through the first full week with the kids relatively unscathed. Minus the bedtime story incident where Matteo stuck his hand down my shirt. Costanza's response? "Haha. Yes, he likes tits."

I haven't had much time to explore on my own since the kids were on a shortened school schedule this week and both Carlo and Costanza were away on travel. But it's been really nice settling into a routine with the bambinos. Although they can be a handful (they know a plethora of Italian cuss words) I've been having a lot of fun with them as well. I've already imposed discipline on account of "direct disobedience" and have also taught a proper puppet show apology. Dad would be proud.

This weekend I have a couple events lined up where I'll be able to meet some other au pairs working here in Rome.

Much love!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

"Biscuits""Biscuits"
"Biscuits"

COOKIES, for real
1st Gelato1st Gelato
1st Gelato

According to Carlo, this is the best gelato in Italy. From Ciampini's. Hazelnut and chocolate. To die for.
AliceAlice
Alice

Practicing piano in her new favorite shirt/dress that I bought her from SF.
MatteoMatteo
Matteo

He was shocked that I actually wanted to play trains with him...what were these other nannies doing?!
AliceAlice
Alice

I am an audience of one to daily dance routines. This cheer routine was in honor of me...number one fan.
MatteoMatteo
Matteo

We had a violent sword fight and I broke one of his swords. Ooops. Totally into it.
Can't live withoutCan't live without
Can't live without

This little guy is my BEST FRIEND. Makes the most amazing coffee.
DVDsDVDs
DVDs

Loving these classic titles in Italian.
MenuMenu
Menu

Yep, I can get used to having a personal chef.
WaterWater
Water

Gas or no gas?


14th September 2012

Peroni
I resent the bud light comment...
14th September 2012

Thanks for the helping me with comunication withdrawals!
Wonderful to see your face and hear your voice. I felt like I had won the jack pot when I saw the notice of a new blog Loved it!!!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb