GAH!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 22nd 2012
Published: August 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I wrote so much, and it deleted it. Dear TravelBlog, I do not appreciate you doing this to me. This is probably how people who used to write on typewriters felt when coffee spilled.



To recap (in significantly fewer words than the first time):

I am now in Rome. It is ungodly, and unpleasantly hot here.

Our apartment is well appointed, with plenty of space, but is strangely and disconnectedly decorated.

We saw a lot of old stuff yesterday. Ruins mostly. I learned facts.

Before I left Munich, it thunder and lightning stormed.

I ordered gelato in Italian, and was able to get the check at the restaurant.

We went grocery shopping and did battle with the "light it yourself" gas stove in order to make dinner for ourselves and two of the guys.

We are now all sitting on top of our beds after ice cold showers (on purpose), praying to god that we can sleep tonight with our one fan. We may need to have words with the Rome center about that.

Erin finally has her suitcase - it was a great success when it finally showed up. GREAT success!

Tomorrow we have orientation at 10, followed by Italian class (so that we speak less embarassingly poorly). Then we're free to explore. Also, my birthday is tomorrow, so we're gonna go to a club on the river! Huzzah!



So that's it for now, because, dear readers (few though you are) I am not repeating the 800+ words that got magically deleted. I cried about it on the inside. It was manifested in my utter distaste for the heat.



More tomorrow, and Viva Roma!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



22nd August 2012

Sorry you lost your posts
Ok. So I was thinking I might do this when I travel. Losing the data is not cool. On the picture note, can they go in right side up? I don't stand on my head very well. Ciao! Still having fun reading and hope you slept a little last night.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb