All roads lead to Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Its been another roasting day in Rome today. Bought a hat first thing and made sure we had rests along that way to avoid overheating.

The day started at the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon then the Trevi fountain. We did kinda insult the roman gods of food by going into a mcdonalds, but it was only too use the toilet so I think we'll be fogiven as long as we tip while we are here. At the Trevia me and my mum threw a coin in, so we'll be back in Rome. Although my mum was a bit reluctant to join in the tradition so she might just be back relucantly.

We saw a few more landmarks then had a siesta. The plan for the afternoon was to have a walk along the River Tiber. Then we had a coffee on the island in the river. Which is were Langdon lands at the end of angels and demons. We walked around taking in the site of the Travestera side of the river. By folllowing the guide book we end up having a beer in what seemed like an area a bit like Lark Lane, full of locals, tourists and families.

There was lots of nice looking resturants around there, so I'd recommend it but it is far away from a metro station. We settled on a resturant to have dinner after looking at a couple and it was the best place we've eatten so far. I had brusetta and carbonara. I'd tell you what my mum had but to be honest I was too absorbed in my own food to remember. After pudding I had my first drink of lemoncello which was yummy.

As a mentioned before there was a bit of a walk to the metro to come home. Halfway their we needed to go to the ladies. So we stoped at the first bar we spotted. This turned out to be an old bakery with the tables placed around the old equipment. Unfortunatly the facilities were also old fashioned, but its better than nothing.

After a drink there we made it to on to the metro, which was then followed by us missing our stop because we were talking. But we are back in our room safe and sound for an early night ready for our 3 hour tour of the vatican. I think my mum might not be able to sleep with excitement.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb