Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
March 28th 2005
Published: March 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Have arrived. My first impression is of wetness and dirt and decay and incredible age. This city has the kind of rich smells and stone streets slick with unknown substances that seem typical of warmer climes. Every step I take, I can't get away from the sheer size and age of the place. I don't think it's quite sunken in that I'm walking through the birthplace of modern civilization.

I've stopped for food (I'd have to call it elevenses) in a little garden overlooking the Foro Romana. I'm soaking up the sun, thinking that a Roman princess probably was doing the exact same thing a couple thousand years ago, and trying to ignore the tourists. This little excercise has been fun to play with on this trip, erasing the tourists and putting myself back in time with as much clarity as my poor uneducated brain can muster.

...

My god my feet hurt. I wandered my way over to San Pietro, stopping for a disappointing lunch on the way. I think I'm finally reaching exhaustion, because I could not for the life of me muster enough courage to stand in the line for San Pietro (and a collective gasp rises off the people). No I know, the most famous fresco, the most famous church, but again, the mantra ran through my head: when I come back... Because obviously I'm coming back. I can't live my life only having spent one day in Rome, ever. Besides I have to run Trevor ragged, dragging him around to see everything.

I think also I'm in shock from the difference between desolate Arran and tourist-choked Rome. I heard more French and English than Italian today. I think I might have seen one actual inhabitant of Rome, but he popped out of sight quickly enough 😊 It would also help to have someone to talk to, to help process all these monuments so I could have enough energy to go on to the next one. I'm really excited for spring break, and I'll have a travel buddy, so hopefully it will be easier to take in Florence and Pompeii and Greece.

By the way, I will be emailing a detailed itinerary to my parents and Trevor, so if anyone needs to get a hold of me during my spring break, you can email them:
gbenson@sbsalaska.com
kvideos@acsalaska.net
trevorbice@yahoo.com
...Or contact IES Milano.

Ciao tutti cari, ci vediamo a Milano!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb