Arriving in Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 15th 2010
Published: October 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jugslie left for NY around 1pm. My flight wasn’t until 4pm, but I headed to the airport with them anyhow. I still had Moroccan money so I figured I should change it for some Euros while there was an opportunity. Unfortunately I didn’t say goodbye as I thought I would just meet up with them at their gate while I had plenty of time to spare. I forgot how big the airport was! Additionally, they had to go through a checkpoint to their gate… Urghhh - no goodbye hugs. This made me a little sad as I won’t be seeing them until December, but it is what it is. I had a fun time in Spain. I now have confidence to drink alcohol at every meal moving forward. Remember that Priority Pass card I invested in? Well it finally paid off! I got free internet, a comfy chair, unlimited beverages, sandwiches and snacks while waiting for my flight.

Overall, I don’t think I will every totally adapt to Spanish culture; however I find it completely fascinating. The locals work from 8 or 9am until 1 or 2pm. Eat, drink and nap and head back to work around 5pm until 7 or 8pm. WTF! I liked the idea of site seeing all morning, eating a huge lunch and then napping before showering and starting a night out all over around 8 or 9pm - but it is exhausting, especially when alcohol is involved during lunch!

When I left Morocco, I was ready to go but I had some withdrawal for a few weeks! I still want me some tagine and couscous and their delicious fruits. I left Spain exhausted. I need a vacation from the past few days. This is one of those times I wish I gave myself a week to do nothing (as I did after Morocco). It would have been nice to spend an extra few days in a place like Marbella or check out Valencia. I can definitely say I would come back to Spain. I would love to check out places like San Sebastian (up north) and spend more time in places like Granada or random country areas (like I did at the bull ranch near Vilches).

After sitting on the runway for 3 hours, we finally took off for Rome. Instead of arriving around 6ish, I got to my hotel around 10pm. I did nothing but grab a quick beer and a slice of pizza. I was so hungry I am not even sure if I enjoyed it. Then to sleep as my friend Jen was landing before 9am! OYE. I was frightened that she wanted to roam around Rome like a trooper. Even though she did, we had a nice day. There was no pressure to see everything. After we made our wishes at the Trevi fountain, we found an awesome place for lunch. We got our own pizzas and I had a beer. YUM! I am force feeding my tummy with dairy and it will just have to deal.

Our meet and greet with the tour group was at 5pm. It was an hour orientation with our guide. After filling out paperwork and such, we had dinner. We lasted until about 11pm as our wakeup call is at 6am tmrw! Off to Pompeii in the morning. I am looking forward to this chapter of my trip; however nervous I may get burnt out as I haven’t had much downtime. All I know once this is done… I fly straight to start my planned itinerary in Turkey. The only good news is as I planned it, I gave myself every 3rd or 4th day free days to do whatever I wanted, which may even include sleep and another season of 24.

Did I mention that Rome is the most crowded city I have been to since I started traveling? OYE.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb