My Heart is in Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 11th 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Rome is by far my favorite city in the world. The city is full of elegance, grace, and an air that is like no other. Rome knows who she is, and where she has been; her history is second to none. Rome is where I fell in love, and where I'll always return. Rome, in short, is home and home is where the heart is.

Initially when planning our trip, I had a few misgivings about returning to Rome. It's not that I didn't want to go -- quite the contrary -- but I was cautious about building up the myth of our first trip into something that was impossible to recreate. What fun would it be to go back to Rome, only to be let down?

So our time was spent mixing old with new. We treated ourselves with places built up in our mythology, and places that we didn't get to see much of before to expand our love of Rome. We visited our favorite places like: the Ponte Sant'Angelo, Piazza Navona, the best sandwich shop in the whole peninsula, and all the ancient buildings. We also got a chance to stop by some new places, including Villa Borghese, Piazza del Popolo and a wonderful restaurant on Isola Tibertina called Sora Lella. There we had a wonderful 4-course traditional Roman meal, paired with 4 different wines, that just about made us both burst. It was so much fun, dining in the tiny restaurant on the tiny island with a bunch of Romans.

I'm not going to say much more, but I will say that I very much enjoyed our return to Rome. It was like coming home, and yet we still were able to make it more than just revisiting something we already knew. And, I cannot wait to return once more, in the very near future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 17; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb