The end of Rome and an hour long power walk through the Vatican...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 23rd 2009
Published: December 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here I am, back in Boston (so annoyed at the Pats' loss to the Saints last night!), trying to fill in some of the blog holes in my trip. I am still waiting for the Berlin/Poland/Prague/most-of-Rome memory card to arrive, so until then, I'll start filling in other things.

Here are the pictures I do have from my last day/night in Rome. The city is particularly beautiful at night - more to come if my memory car finally decides to make its way home. Other highlights include Gelateria-mania, an adorable old man with an accordion and, if that doesn't strike your fancy, Giuseppe and his friend What's-His-Name, trying to fix Nonna Gina's CD player! For more on Nonna Disco, check her out on youtube:
.

The day I left Rome was a sprint to see the Vatican, mainly the Sistine Chapel. This was a wonderful way to enjoy my *love* for large groups of people. The hour and a half (and 12 Euros) bought me the chance to hone my skills in pivoting my way through large tour groups of religious masses, one colored pencil set depicting God jump-starting Adam's life with the touch of a finger (all bonus points in the world if anyone remembers the show 'Out of this World' from the late 80's where the girl could stop time by pressing the tips of her two index fingers together!), and one visit to the Sistine Chapel where, like God intended, no photos are allowed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Best staircase. Ever.Best staircase. Ever.
Best staircase. Ever.

So what if it's just the exit to the Vatican. Love it.


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb