Veronika's post


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 4th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I read through Michael's blog posts. They are really cool and I asked him if I could do one too. So here it is :-)

It is very sad that the trip is (almost) over! We sure got to see a lot and I enjoyed the trip very much!I remember when Michael wrote me on Facebook. He mentioned in his first blog entry that he "jokingly Facebook messaged" me. To be honest, when he wrote me, I wasn't sure if he was serious or not. But I was totally up for the trip!

During the Oktoberfest Michael got to learn a few German words and drinking songs :-) He for example learned the word "Zug" which means train. His pronunciation is kinda bad though ;-) In return he thought me some English words that I didn't know so far and I found out who Evil Knievel is!

We got along very well on this trip. Each of us got to see the things that he or she wanted to (mostly it were the same things anyways). Especially in Italy, Michael would point out cars or scooters to me and I would point out dresses, shoes or purses to him. Then the other one would nod but not really care ;-)

Michael was so nice to give me a nickname during this trip: Train Girl. When we were driving from Munich to Lucerne we had to change trains about 5-6 times. Since I had printed out all the train times and the connections it wasn't a problem at all. During this trip getting to the places where we wanted to go wasn't a problem at all. The European train system is pretty good. Since I had the train times and connections my answer to Michael's concerned looks when the train was kinda late would always be: "I am optimistic. I am not worried at all. We will make it". I still don't know if I really like my new nickname though....

One thing that we realised (well, I knew it already) is the fact that it is very hard to get (cheap and good) food in Europe. Lucerne is very expensive (Michael wrote about that). So on our second day Micheal said that we should go to that one restaurant and he would pay for anything that I wanted. So I got a cheeseburger, fries and a coke. Gotta love Burger King :-)

In Italy getting good and cheap food is a lot better if you find out where the local people go to. Luckily our tour guide in Rome mentioned a really cool district in town to us and we went there for a lot of our meals. We had tons of pasta and pizza but since we walked so much we didn't put on weight at all. In fact, we are in pretty good shape right now ;-) In every city we climbed the city's tower or church. Lots of stairs and one time I was ready to kill the person who invented them ;-)

This trip has been a lot of fun! Thanks Michael for asking me if I wanted to do this trip with you! I enjoyed it very much! Besides the weather in Switzerland and at the Amalfi Coast it couldn't have been any better!:-)

Advertisement



5th October 2009

Thank you, Veronika!
Veronika, Michael's dad Dave and I both are grateful to you for making the time to travel with Michael. I know that he never would have made this trip without his trusty companion. (I won't call you train girl!) We are anxious to hear all of the stories and see the many pictures. I hope that both of you have very safe trips home. And please, if ever you visit the states again, please plan to spend some time with us. We would love to have you as our guest. Safe travels, Nancy Dickerson

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb