CIAO from ROMA!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 18th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I cannot believe Im here. It is all so surreal, like I am just on vacation and heading back to the States in two weeks. My apartment is beautiful and so much bigger than I had ever imagined. Kitchen, dining room, living room (with cable tv until the end of January) and two bedrooms, and huge bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub but no actual shower...a lousy showerhead that pulls out from the bathtub will be it for the next four months. But other than that, I would hardly call our apartment "roughing" it. Unfortunately, I had to spend the first day in Rome locked inside my apartment, waiting for my landlord to come and give me the right key, since JCU had the wrong key to the apartment building, but I slept all afternoon and then all night, so when I woke up Tuesday morning I was energetic and refreshed. Trastevere is gorgeous, so quaint and so Roman. Tons of italian restaurants for super cheap line the streets and I hope by the end of the semester I wil be able to try them all. Yesterday I went on a tour of Trastevere and then finished off at a bar called Friends where JCU had a huge meet and greet event. From there, we went to a bar called Mr. Browns which is a superchill bar with happy hour that lasted from 6 to 10pm! Met some friendly and CUTE Tulane boys there, ended up chatting with them for a few hours and then a big group of us headed over to Campo di Fiori where the piazza turns into a huge bar and social scene after 10pm. It seemed that everywhere we went gave student discounts, so yeah for being a student and paying cheap prices! Since then, Ive just been doing official document paperwork for my stay in Italy, but tonight Megan comes and we are going to go out on the town! Still havent really left Trastevere yet, but I have to remind myself that I am here for 4 months...wow, craziness.

all for now!

ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb