Roaming around Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 8th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today we had our free day! I had every intention of getting up at 9 am to tour the city. I ended up catching up on my sleep until past 11! But it was fine because we did tour the city for four hours that day! We saw the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon, the Wedding Cake, and numerous churches. It was awesome to just walk into a building, like a church, and it be something that I had never seen before! I didn't even have to be considered famous! It just was so beautiful.

Everything here is amazing. We learned that the Wedding Cake contains the body of an unknown soldier which is supposed to symbolize all the soldiers that have died in past wars. There is also an "eternal flame" lit to symbolize the unification of Italy.

While we were walking we noticed that Italians walk very close to you! Practically bumping into you! Also, no one really walks around with coffee mugs like we do in the States and I do not see many cellphones, which I was surprised about. I haven't see any gyms or people out running to exercise either.

Since it was Sunday, many stores were closed. (which later I found out many stores are also closed on Mondays!) We were walking freely out in the middle of the street. Many streets were blocked off from cars.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb