Rome ..just the first leg


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jolee sheet (thats in my best Spanish accent, and remember, the J is gutteral!) If you've never been to Italy, get your culo over there. I took a 14 day stroll from Rome all the way to the Lakes region near the border with Switzerland. I ate and drank my way through Rome, Tuscany, Liguria, and Piemonte. I think the best way to do this is to start with one area and then slowly make my way through. I've been to Rome again since then as well (probably my favorite city to explore that I've ever been to, but I still have quite a few more to do). Stroll by the Colosseum or eat under a trellis in Trastavere. Buy some fresh parmesan in a traditional market, stare up at all the ceilings in the Vatican, wander around a corner and BOOM, there's the fontana di Trevi, whatever it is, soak it all in. AND THATS JUST ROME. Yes, it is as beautiful as everyone says, YES the food is unbelievable, and YES those italians are...well...you know. Just be aware that there are more Americans in Rome alone than there are in Rhode Island. But don't worry, the city just swallows up their big voices and space taking ways. You hardly notice they're there. Anyway, enjoy the photos and book your ticket soon. I'll be heading back as pronto as possible. Tickets are just 35 euros (are you jealous?) so even a one night stand with Rome for me is worth every second. Hope all is well back there in the states. And I'll do my best this time to write a little more frequently.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Fontana di TreviThe Fontana di Trevi
The Fontana di Trevi

This fountain is in the middle of the bustling city, hidden around the corner of a hotel. Its just amazing when you walk through the little winding streets and BAM, this is in front of you.
Yes, many have died here.Yes, many have died here.
Yes, many have died here.

While you wait in line to get in, there are lots of gladiators just dying to take a picture with you...I passed.
Enjoying a gin and tonic...Enjoying a gin and tonic...
Enjoying a gin and tonic...

While waiting for some simple yet mind blowing pasta.
Just one of the many...Just one of the many...
Just one of the many...

Can't take pictures of the Sistine chapel, but there are so many ceilings in the Vatican worthy of getting a photo.
My favorite place to wander.My favorite place to wander.
My favorite place to wander.

I'm going back to Rome as soon as I can and this is where I'll head, right between the river and Piazza Novana. Lots of antique shops, little alleys and great restaurants. And who knows what else I may find...


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb