THE POPE!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 21st 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning we went to see the Pope at the Vatican! It turns out there are 8 Popes! Who would have thought? (Not me!) Normally you have to buy tickets to be inside and the general public sits outside and watches on HUGE screens but we were rained out or in I should say! So we got to be inside for free! He spoke English, Italian, German, and Spanish and blessed us all! There were many small groups from Parishes around the world and everyone cheered as they were called out! It was absolutely incredible and I hope I can add pictures soon!

As we left, Lauren, Carey and I had to make sure not to get shoved over or poked in the eyes by the hundreds of umbrellas and rude people! You would not believe it. It was practically an obstacle course! It was well worth the £10 cab ride!

After our meetings with our professor today we went out shopping. All was well and then it started sheeting rain!! Poor lauren got poked in the head by umbrella spokes 3 times!! I somehow avoided them at count 0! We decided in the midst of it all it would be a great idea to get gelati and it was! Maybe the best gelati yet. Speaking of gelati here are SOME of the flavors I have tried:

strawberry
kiwi
banana
cafe
chocolato
stratchiatella (sp!)
milk cream

I swear theres been more... Ill keep adding dont worry!

Hope all is well in the good ol USA! CIAO!

Advertisement



21st May 2008

gelati
Hi Lindz...I always get stratchiatella...or whatever it is called...when I was in Spain I ate it everyday...which is really sad....omg don't forget to see the Sisteen Chapel!!!
21st May 2008

8 Popes!
Lindsey, I was very interested to learn (as I am sure the Vatican will be as well!) that there are 8 popes! Can you name them?! The next thing you will tell me is that the popes are Catholic! Who'd have guessed! Glad to see you are learning many new things! ;) Have fun. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb