3/6/08


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
March 6th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all,
I am back in Rome, safe and sound form our class trip up north. I have a ton of pictures to upload, but that may have to wait until early next week. I had midterms yesterday, and today is just as busy school wise. Also, Mom and Dad are here to visit this week... so I do not have enough time for everything. Even so, thought I would write in case anyone still reads this thing and was anxious to hear what I have been up to.

Our northern trip consisted of visiting Ferara, Ravenna, Bologna, Mantova, Padova, and a few other smaller cities and towns. The trip was cold and soooo foggy. I thought our bus was going to drive off the road about a million times. I had to stop watching and studying instead (I am a nerd). We saw a ton of churches, so with the exception of you art history buffs, the pictures I have to upload may not be that great anyway. The great thing about the whole trip was that I got an A on my art history presentation on the nave mosaics in Sant'Apollinare Nuovo church in Ravenna. I can give the presentation to anyone who wants to hear it once I get home, although it will not be as great because we will not have the actual art to look at. Oh well.

The other cool thing about the trip was all of the local foods and specialties we got to try. I had the best tortellini ever in Bologna, and Lombardia (the region where most of the cities we visited are located) is know for its capellini di zucca, essentially pasta made out of pumpkin. It was really good, which is surprising.

Enough about food though... things are really great here. Mom and Dad are in Florence right now, but get back tomorrow. We plan to visit the Vatican museums and then on Saturday I plan to take them to Tivoli. I think Mom will really likes the gardens and the fountains. We'll see. Also, I leave for spring break (Dublin, Killarney, Paris, and Sicily) next Friday, so if anyone has any suggestions, or anything they want me to pick them up let me know!

To anyone who still reads this, please comment just so I know to keep writing! I want to know how things are going at home as well. How much snow is there this week? (If it makes anyone feel any better we have had rain the past two days... I got really wet on my run this morning. People think I am crazy.)

See you all soon!
Bridge

Advertisement



7th March 2008

i still read it!
yo! sounds like you're having an awesome time! i enjoy reading of your travels and whatnot. it helps me to forget for a moment that i'm stuck in adrian, michigan! we had like 3-4 inches the other night and might possibly get some more snow this weekend. i drove to milwaukee last weekend for hockey's conference tournament... thought of you and all of the other chicagoland kids on my way through the wonderful city of chicago! anyway, i gotta roll for now, but keep the postings going! :) have a great weekend with the parents!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb