Feeling amazingly insignificant in the footsteps of Ancient Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
December 29th 2007
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a decent and much needed night's rest we were up and about for our first full day of Rome. And by full day I mean sightseeing and walking around Rome until we were tired and wanted a nap. We'd be outside until about 3:30PM when we'd return to the hostel for a siesta. At first I felt like taking a nap midday while I was in a city like Rome was a waste of my short amount of time here, but I justified it in two ways: 1) we are in the Mediterranean area where, by my standards at least, it is perfectly acceptable to take midday naps. At least this is what my younger sisters studying Spanish have informed me. And 2) sightseeing is just plain exhausting. Had it been warmer I out I would have taken the time to sit in a piazza or cafe and rested there... but not in December. No, no, no...

Standing where the Emperors stood



So we started our early day at the Colosseo. And I'm glad we did get up early because by time we got of at the metro there was a modest line and by the time we walked out of the mega monument the line was incredible. But justified. The Colosseum was just as impressive as you would imagine it would be. And as impressive as it looks from the outside, it was even more impressive on the inside. Standing inside made me feel so small and insignificant... but in a great way. I was standing in history, looking at a place that has been around for centuries. And yeah, it really just is a bunch of old stones but if you can get past that and put yourself actually in the past, thinking of what it was like back when it was clad in marble slates, adorned with statues and bronze, complete with gladiators and wild beasts imported from Africa... it's a virtually indescribably feeling.

We paid for a guided tour, and although it wasn't exactly like a tour I was expecting, it was very worthwhile. Our guide didn't so much take us around the interior as she explained the background and history of the Colosseum and even Rome itself. It really helped to put us in a frame of mind that both let us appreciate what we were seeing and to actually know what we were looking at. Taking myself back almost two thousand years ago, this place must have been a completely different Rome. If I was impressed with sheer ruins and glimmers of the past, what would I be if I could have a glimpse of the glory days?

The ruins of Ancient Roma



After walking around the Colosseum by ourselves, we headed out and over to the Foro Romano, the ruins of the ancient city's commercial and political center. Armed with two guidebooks, we made our way through the crowds and broken columns and tried to decipher what it was we were actually seeing. In hindsight, it might have been just easier to rent an audioguide, but I think we got a lot of it. We also got a lot of pictures. The buildings, or remnants of buildings and temples and arches et cetera, were just amazing. Some weren't as well preserved as others, but even so to see so much just scattered in such a relatively small amount of land humbled me. I mean, I was standing in the doorway of the Curia, home of the Roman Senate, just amazed that I was able to see where the ancient senators of Rome (despite their lack of power in later days) would come together and debate. As a political science major, this was the highlight of the whole Forum, despite the fact that this building was probably the least grand or impressive (though most intact).

The rest of the day was spent meandering around the Palatine Hill. I probably would have appreciated that more with a tour guide and less fatigue. I felt kind of zombie-like walking among crumbled stones and half standing buildings. I credit that to waking up at 7 and walking around for 8 hours straight. Not that it wasn't impressive as well. I was just kind of burnt out. Although walking to Palatino was awesome... we were walking along what looked like a drained resevoir or just random green area. But Keith pulled out his guide book and it looked like the place I thought was just a rather large drainage ditch was actually where the emperors had their chariot races. I've never seen Ben Hur, but I can imagine how awesome it must have been. And what is it now? Just grass, and a dirt track!

We decided to call it
Me in the ColosseoMe in the ColosseoMe in the Colosseo

My Mary Tyler Moore picture as Keith calls it
an early night since tomorrow is the Vatican day. But we didn't go back to the hostel without our first genuine Italian pasta meal. We found a place just south of the Colosseum. I had some fettucini and Keith had some ravioli. He didn't care for either that much, but I loved my fettucini. It was just what I needed after walking around outside all morning and early afternoon long. Right now I'm reading a book called ''Eat, Pray, Love'' and this lady goes to Italy and eats like crazy. She gains 30 pounds after 4 months of staying there. At first, when I read this, I thought that was crazy. But, after being here for 36 hours... I don't blame her at all. At least we plan to do a lot of walking, so we won't get too fat. I'm just glad I'm not on a carb-free diet. I'd starve here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Amazing how beautiful crumbled stone can beAmazing how beautiful crumbled stone can be
Amazing how beautiful crumbled stone can be

Arch of Septimius Severus in the background
CuriaCuria
Curia

Don't you just love the flooring?
The view from the top of Palatine HillThe view from the top of Palatine Hill
The view from the top of Palatine Hill

St. Peter's all the way to the left


4th January 2008

Photos
Looks like you had some pretty blue skies for photos! I was so bummed with the haze when I was there. Congrats! I loved the Forum as well.

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 108; dbt: 0.1514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb