A few things I am grateful for...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 28th 2005
Published: October 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

It’s amazing how much we take for granted, until we no longer have it…

I went to Juarez, Mexico, on a mission trip the spring break of my freshman year of college. We built a small house in four days for an underprivileged family. Among the many things I learned in that week while we were camping and working, I realized that I am very grateful for modern plumbing - enough said.

This summer I learned to appreciate the dishwasher. I didn’t have one (and I still don’t over here), but I know that one day, when I do have one, I’ll remember what’s it’s like to actually have to wash dishes by hand, and I will be grateful.

So far this semester, one of the things I have become very thankful for is hot water. For a few days, we didn’t think our new apartment had hot water, and let me state the obvious: cold showers are not fun. Now, we’ve learned that you have to have both the water in kitchen faucet and the water in the bathroom running before either of them gets hot - pretty ghetto, but we can live with it, so long as there are no more cold showers.

And of course, I am grateful for all my wonderful family and friends who e-mail and message me while I’m so far from home. The people in your life should never be taken for granted, so thanks for keeping in touch, and I’m glad that I’m able to share this experience with you. I love you all!

Advertisement



3rd October 2005

Ditto

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb