Last entry from Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 9th 2007
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, now back in Rome once again! I'm having a very relaxed day today - I pick up my visa today at 5pm and I've seen most things here so I don't feel like doing too much! Just catching up on the net and taking it easy. My flight to India (Delhi) is tomorrow morning at 11.30 so that's pretty good. It worked out around £450 to fly with Turkish airlines (I know sounds a bit dodgy! :O/ ). The flight leaves at a reasonable time but it arrives at 2.30 in the morning over there. The ones that arrived at a more sociable time were almost double the price, so I bit the bullet! The hotel I've booked is picking me up from the airport though so that's quite cool.
I had a fantastic week with Silvia and her family last week. She is such a lovely person, we laughed so much together...mainly over my Italian! I'll have to work on it before I come back here! I had a very relaxed week which was nice. I've been so busy sightseeing since I've been in Rome, it was really nice to put my feet down for a bit! Also, I'd hurt my foot somehow and it was pretty painful walking around Verona and Venice, but it does seem to be quite a bit better now which is a relief! Guess my feet have had a pretty raw deal since I've been away! There was an amazing thunderstorm while I was at Silvias. Her house is on the top of a hill and we had an amazing view of the storm approaching over the valley. It was fantastic! I've put a few photos on facebook of it. I also managed to work out the movie mode on my camera and took a few minutes of it! Unfortunately I dont think I can put movies on facebook? Does anyone know? It would be good to get it off my memory card so if anyone's got any ideas.... maybe u tube? I've never used it, so not too sure. It was incredible though. The power went for an hour or so, so we lit the candles and played cards! I showed Michele and Silvia the game cheat! It was quite amusing! Silvia's cooking is amazing as well! We had homemade pizza, barbies, pasta ... true italian cooking........mmmm :O) They eat very differently in Italy.. one thing at a time, so pasta on its own, meat on its own, veggies on their own. They don't mix things on the plate. I think they thought I was quite wierd when I put cheese, bread, mayo and a bit of lettuce together! I would have offered to cook for them, but I don't think an english meal would have gone down too well! Maybe one day if they come to england, I'll show them the english way of doing things!
Well Italy has been fantastic...in the main anyway. I've loved it here, but I have to say I'm all Italy'd out! The 7 wks have flown by. I'm not too sure where they've gone! I've met some fab people as well which is great. I'm hoping to catch up with one or two of them when I get to their part of the world. I'm very much looking forward to India, but I am a wee bit apprehensive too. I'm not too sure if my phone will work when I get there either, so if I don't text, don't worry! If it doesn't I may have to sort something else out. I emailed the animal rescue centre in Udapair yesterday and they're still quite keen for me to go there. I'm going to head up north to Manali and maybe do Agra first though as it's starting to get pretty cold up there now. I think October is supposed to be ok though. It's got quite a good write up and even Erica from the animal aid place said it's worth going up that way. Anyhow, that's the rough plan, but I guess things may change.
Well best go, I've got lots of relaxing to do before picking up my visa! Mustn't forget to stock up on loo roll too! :O)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb