Luxury in Italiano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 13th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I escaped to Rome. And this time I didn't even get my passport stamped on arrival, just a big smile and away you go, Oh the contrast! Royal Air Maroc had helpfully completely flattened my tires (totally unnecessary to do that, hell the pressure differential isn't that great fellas!) Since Kees had our only pump this posed the first problem. Unfortunately the 'convenient' airport buses weren't interested in taking bikes, and since it was about 10 at night and Rome itself was about 30mins away, by train, I found myself sleeping on yet another marble floor. This time at the train station. The morning dawned busy and looking as dirty and dodgy as ever I managed to attract the attention of a nice police woman who required my passport before I could go anywhere, man I need a haircut. I booked a ticket to Riccione, didn't tell them I had a bike, figured if they new that I wouldn't be allowed on at all. I was right. Managed to stay relatively inconspicuous until the third train, somewhere in the alps where the conductor discovered my little secret and decided I would be getting off at the next stop, bugger. But I managed to convince him otherwise. Well Riccione on the Eastern Italian coast is a sight to behold. One big long stretch of beaches and hotels and little else other than fashion shops and pizzerias, the latter being fine by me. The prices were up a touch from Morocco but boy was it nice to be somewhere with modern facilities again. Found mum and checked into her hotel and was sorted, not that mum recognised me when she walked into the reception, looked straight at me and then carried on. However the Italians know how to give haircuts and I after a few massive buffet meals I was soon recognisable again. The track and field champs were a lot of fun and mum made the kiwis proud with a pile of medals to bring home.

We had a few free days between races and on one went to visit San Marino, the smallest and old Republic in the world apparently. Basically a little fortified village high up on a big rock in the midst of Italy. The views were pretty cool, the shops all seemed to sell swords, knives and fake guns, and the museums all had names like
VeniceVeniceVenice

Bell tower background
'museum of armament' 'museum of torture' etc maybe something to do with their warring past I don't know. Another day we went to Venice. This would probably be the most touristy place I've ever been. But it is pretty special, the water world is full of boats and leaning buildings. We ascended the bell tower for a view over the city and went for a cruise among some of the 35km of waterways in a traditional gondolier. It is great having no cars or bikes, just footpaths and water ways. It would've been nice to stay a lot longer there.

My last couple of days in Italy were spent back in Rome prior to my flight out to Egypt to, hopefully, find Kees again. Rome was very cool. Walked around the old ruins, visited saint peters basilica at Vatican city, the Vatican museum was closed because it was Sunday, oh well. Lots of other crazy old buildings, it would seem Rome even out does Paris on this front. And the Colosseum! But no photo's in Rome cause Kees has the camera, but it's all just touristy stuff anyway and we've all seen enough of that. Off to Saint Maria
VeniceVeniceVenice

From the tower
Trastevere tonight to hang out in the atmosphere for my last night in Italy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Venice squareVenice square
Venice square

Tourists for Africa


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb