Ciao Ciao


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 8th 2005
Published: September 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi everybody. Sorry I haven't posted much. To be honest it's not as great/convienent as I thought it would be. Anyway a brief recap...

I was in Florence for three nights. While there I did as much as I could in the city. I went to the Uffizi Gallery, the National Accademy and the Vecchio, I think, Palace, and the Opera dell Duomo. I climbed the stairs of the Bapistery, went inside the Duomo, walked the streets, checked out the shops on Ponte Vecchio, saw the Loggia and other outdoor sculptures.

I made it to Rome on Tuesday. Saw Christine, who's in Rome for her semester abroad, Tuesday night. Yesterday I spent two hours sitting inside the Colosseum during a total downpour. Also walked through the Roman Forum and some the Palatine. Despite the weather I really enjoyed visiting these classic sites. I love seeing SPQR on the sewer covers and have been trying to remeber as much of my high school Latin as possible. Also yesterday I attended the Papal Audience in St. Peter's.

Today was for the Vatican. Went inside St. Peter's Basilica, saw the Pieta and the statue of St. Peter, toe worn down. Also saw the tomb of the late Pope. Climbed the stairs of the dome on the basilica. The basilica itself was very impressive and conveyed a lot of emotion. I also went to the Vatican Museums. The Raphael rooms were incredible and my favorite and the sistine Chapel was magnificent. Many of the works inside the Pinacoteca were also wonderful.

Hope everyone is well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th September 2005

Great Photos
Glad Florence was great ... continue to enjoy Rome. THANKS for the photos.
8th September 2005

SPQR
Senatus Populusque Romanus- I learned that a couple days ago. I also like the Italian translation: These Romans are pigs. Haha. Take care.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb