Romeward Bound


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another long day of travel. Some advice:

If you get seasick, don't take the bus to and from Amalfi - take the ferry.

Huh?
Trust me, the coast is extremely rugged, so the twists and turns in the road are brutal. One older guy lost his lunch (actually breakfast) about 2/3 of the way to Salerno. And I only gained 30 minutes by taking the bus rather than the ferry!

Those 30 minutes were useful, though, since I was able to catch the EuroStar train to Rome, which gave me the afternoon here. I checked into my hotel (I've decided I'm too old for hostels, and my room here is extremely genteel) and headed straight back to the Termini Station.

Why?
The Maccabi Games, of course. I had to check it out, and I'm glad I did. Sure, most of the sideline conversations revolved around food, and there was the obligatory "my-kid's-better-than-your-kid" oneupmanship, but the sports were actually really fun to watch. I got to see the US and Scotland (Scotland has Jews?) fight it out for 5th and 6th place in soccer - US won ("We're number 5! We're number 5!"). Plus, I got to see a guy get knocked out in Karate, and got the whole thing on video. All in all, a fun day.

I might check it out again tomorrow, maybe not. We'll see. Depends on whether they have blintzes on the breakfast buffet.

Ciao,
Eric

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb