Can't You Hear Me Knockin'?!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If you click the little film strip to the left you can see a short clip of the concert.

This week was a blast! It was absolutely out of control. On the Fourth of July, we all got reservations at the Hard Rock Cafe and I ate a Guacamole Burger, which tasted so good that it really deserves its own blog entry. After dinner with all 30 of us and our professors, the majority of us decided to go to a place called Campo De Fiore, which is an area of Rome with lots of bars and clubs. The great thing is that this is where all the American students go, so obviously, on the Fourth, there was going to be quite the party. The real highlight came after all of the bars closed around 2 or 3 am, and all the Americans spilled into the middle of the piazza. Right then, a Canadian rode by on a scooter singing "Oh, Canada" on his bullhorn. On the Fourth of July, this was just unacceptable, and I started booing him and singing our National Anthem. Well, it caught on like wildfire, and pretty soon all 400 of us in the piazza were singing, and someone broke out this big American Flag and was waving it above our heads and running after the guy on the scooter. Everyone who stuck around from our group came up to me afterwards and thanked me. I was just happy to make the Canadian angry.

Anyways, last night was also outrageous, as we went to the ROLLING STONES CONCERT HERE IN ROME!! It was such a great show. Of course the music was great, but the production value was really impressive. They had fireworks and flames, and the best thing of all was that they played "Can't You Hear Me Knockin'" which is by far my favorite Stones song. After the concert I ended up splitting up with the group and walking like 5 kilometers back towards the hotel before catching a cab. What an adventure.

Earlier in the week we also toured the Vatican Museum and got to see the Sistine Chapel. Aunt Andrea, just in case you were wondering, you aren't supposed to take pictures inside of it, but you know me, I'm a rebel. Enjoy this one of God and Adam.

Anyways, I also want to apologize to all of my fans for not posting a blog entry in a while... It's been pretty busy here with school and stuff, and so I don't have the time like I used to to sit down and write all this stuff. This weekend, a few of us decided to just stay in Rome, so today I'm working on school stuff, and tomorrow I think we're going to go around and try to see some of the stuff we haven't seen here, like the inside of the Colosseum and the Roman Forum and hopefully (cross your fingers) the catacombs. Anyways, hope all is well in the States, and I really can't wait to get back home to all of my friends and family.

P.S. Grandma, I'm really glad to hear that you're doing better. I am so excited to spend some time with you down at the beach when I get back.

P.P.S. Happy Belated Birthday Kevin Ulmer! Hope you had a good one!

Advertisement



7th July 2007

soo...anyways...
9th July 2007

you are a sinner
I'm not surprised that my friend Jeff was able to rally a group of 400 in the singing of our National Anthem... ...glad you had a good time at the Stones concert... -Matt

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb