Italy - Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Extreme Close-upExtreme Close-upExtreme Close-up

The view from the top of St. Peter's Basilica.
5-20-07
I had gotten a pretty bad night's sleep as the road noise was loud and the guy in the bunk above me got in about 1:00 waking me up of course and then some backpackers got in about 2:00. I suspect I had gotten about 2 hours of good quality sleep. Two nights in the row bad sleeping. I suspect in the last 48 hours maybe 5 hours at the most of good quality sleep. I needed to keep this in mind when reacting to things as I know I am going to be a little difficult and impatient as a result. I got up and did some typing and went for breakfast.

I usually type for about an hour and then am typically pretty hungry and get some grub. When I first got downstairs for breakfast there was virtually no one there but when I was ready to eat I suspect there were 30 people in line ahead of me. Hence I waited. I saw some hard boiled eggs which I really had a craving for and saw there were only a few left. I was going to be really mad if I didn't get one of
St. Peters PiazaSt. Peters PiazaSt. Peters Piaza

Pretty Cool.
those. Fortunately however I did and I got two of them. Somebody behind me was probably now mad. Actually not many people were eating them. I suspect no one craved them quite as much as I was. It is actually hard to get an egg in Italy. They never have them for breakfast. It is always bread and coffee.

After breakfast I headed out. I was going to see the Holy See. The pope of course. I made by pilgrimage down the road to the Vatican leaving the hostel about 10:00. I saw several nuns getting on the bus that I passed. You knew they were going to the Vatican so I knew that bus was going to a Vatican as well. I was tempted to get on the bus there. But thought look at all the health benefits I am getting by walking these miles. I kept putting the shoes to the grindstone and around 10:30 I arrived at the St. Peter’s square. There really were not many people there yet. I could have waited longer. I thought it might be like Times Square craziness but it wasn't. The crowds were growing however. Before long I heard a
ColliseumColliseumColliseum

Again the question is asked am I really at the Colliseum?
marching band which I assume is the Pope's band. They were marching up through the crowd. People were snapping pictures of them. I was standing behind some women from Sicily I discovered and we talked pretty much for the remaining hour before the pope arrived. One of the ladies was a niece from Australia of one of the Sicilian ladies. She was our translator. I jokingly told them not all Americans are bad people and they jokingly told me not all Sicilians steal. They had come here because they knew the pope was making this appearance and to sight see of course. By dumb luck I was seeing the pope.

I knew the pope was not driving around, but I still had hoped to see the pope mobile. Maybe they will have it in the sisten chapel or maybe there is a garage attached to St. Peters Basilica that's a big place surely they have room to park his ride there. By the time the pope made his appearance the St. Peter's Piazza or Square was full. It was neat to see that many people organized in a group like that. There is a certain amount of energy in
PantheonPantheonPantheon

Sometimes this trip seems unreal. This is one of those times.
a mass of people like that. When the pope came out he said spoke in either Italian or Latin not sure. Though during his speech he said blessings in Italian, English, French, German, Portugese, Spanish. He may have said the blessing in other languages too not sure, but I know there was no Islamic blessing. The whole ceremony lasted about 15 minutes and the pope disappeared back into the building away from the building. It was cool and I am glad I went. I said goodbye to my new found Sicilian friends and headed in the direction of the Pantheon.

It was about 12:30 now. On my way I saw the Castle Angelo and took a picture up the Tiber River capturing a bridge as well. It appeared this might be one of those good pictures that I would really like. I came across another church and walked inside. They had a mass going on at the time and there were only about 8 people in the church. It was being said in Latin I think and I suspect most people do not know Latin. People walked around the church more respectively knowing there was a mass going on.
The Pope's GuardsThe Pope's GuardsThe Pope's Guards

The road to Vatican City.
The church was rather small but the art work and grandeur was still pretty amazing. I was thinking this would be a really cool church in the states, but I am not in the states I am in Rome. I decided there would be more churches to see so I better just check out the biggest and most prestigious ones. As I walked out the gypsy lady was still on the steps begging like she was when I walked in. I wonder if they even try to get employment. It is very pathetic to say the least.

From there I walked to a big church which had a McDonalds near it so I went in for a Happy Meal. I tried to tell the guy I didn't want the toy but it was just easier to take as his English was not very good. I know people are going to make fun of me for not always eating the good food during my travels but I do not for a couple reason. First of all I can not eat pasta everyday for every meal. Secondly I am traveling for a year and I am trying to save some money.
Sicilian FriendsSicilian FriendsSicilian Friends

I met these women from Sicily. We waited for the pope together
Thirdly I was told by a person in a hostel the cheapest he has gotten in Italy was 15 euros and he could not believe I was not eating good Italian food. When I was in the rural town of San Lazarro I had a meal for about 12 euros in a town that predominantly spoke only Italian by a restaurant owner and staff who only spoke Italian. How much more Italian can you get. This meal for a reasonable price was as Italian as you are going to get. You can get good Italian food if you spent that much in America especially if you add the exchange rate into the equation where a euro meal becomes around 21 dollars. Fourthly when in Rome do what the Romans do. They are eating McDonalds!

In the McDonalds I sat by a couple from Sweden. We talked for awhile during the meal. I offered my Happy Meal toy to the Sweden’s and they turned me down and then to the young ladies from England sitting beside me who took it. They actually looked like they were having loads (as they say) of fun with it and I wished I
It's Mr. Pope to You.It's Mr. Pope to You.It's Mr. Pope to You.

The pope said a blessing in about 5 different languages.
had not given it to them but kept it for myself. The guy ask me if I knew where Sweden was and I said of course I do it comprises the Scandinavian countries and that I am going that way in late July. I asked about the hiking and he said I would enjoy the hiking. This couple was in there 50's I presume and spoke good English. He said he once was in America traveling and asked a person where Sweden was and the guy said sure it is where they have the great hiking in the Alps. The person obviously was confused with Switzerland. I told him yes most Americans don't get out of the country much. They were a really nice couple.
As I walked out the door I looked over my shoulder and saw the fun the girls were having with my happy meal toy. I was tempted to ask for it back but I kept walking. Next one I keep.

I didn't walk into the church however across from the McDonalds, it was huge and probably would have been better than the small one I did walk in but I was ready to see the Pantheon. Wait the Pantheon is a church isn't it. It is a pagan church. On the way I walked through the Piazza Nuvano which was ok. That is considered one of the cooler things to see in Rome according to this map I have, but didn't think it was all that great for Rome.

After about another 3 minute walk I arrived at the Pantheon. It was pretty cool and had pretty nice Piazza in front of it. I walked right in and was impressed considering it was built just around 27 BC. That is right before Christ. Holy Crap this is over 2,000 years old. I must have ask myself a dozen times am I really at the Pantheon am I really in Rome?

The outside had a few grey hairs, but the inside was in great shape. In the roof their is an opening of about 9 meters are roughly 27 feet. The rain that came through hit the floor and drained away. The construction of this is an architectural no less say an engineering phenomena. The light on this sunny day penetrated the opening and illuminated one area of the Pantheon like a barge
Victor Emanuelle MonumentVictor Emanuelle MonumentVictor Emanuelle Monument

This is the largest monument I have seen on this trip. It is bigger than it looks. Go and see it yourself.
light was hitting it at a distance of 20 ft. This place is cool beans for sure. That expression means good I think at least in this context it does! I

From there it is off to the Trevi Fountain. They say this place if you drink the water and throw a coin into the fountain it will ensure your safe return to Rome. Since I know I will want to come back to this place I figured I had to go. I had been getting rave reviews from several people as well about this place. When I got there I thought it to be pretty neat but the more I looked at it the more impressed I became. The statues are huge and the volume of water running through the fountain is quite impressive. Because there were horses in the monument I was reminded of Mile High Stadiums horses at the entrance to the Stadium. I comparing this fountain that was constructed in the mid 1700's to something that was done only a few years ago? Yep I sure was.

I sat at the fountain for awhile and it felt good to do that as I have
Victor Emanuelle Monument Pic 2Victor Emanuelle Monument Pic 2Victor Emanuelle Monument Pic 2

Either this Horse is too big or the man is small. Doesn't something look disproportionate?
been doing lots of walking on a daily basis and it was pretty grueling to be honest. Especially when I was carrying that backpack. I love the fact that they have all this drinkable water all around you and most of it flows continuously. Maybe rather wasteful but neat to see nonetheless. If you getting into the bottled water business Rome is not your place for selling because it is municipally so available.

From there it was off to the monument to the Victor Emmanuel II. When I first saw this thing I was floored. I can not remember ever seeing anything of this scale except maybe a Basilica. It was enormous. I walked up the steps around the monument or building or whatever you want to call it. Midway up the steps you come to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Wow do all countries have Unknown Soldier tombs? I walked as high as you could go up on the monument in the location where they have a restaurant. On the south side of the monument you could see ruins all over the place and at the end of the street on the east side of the monument
The ForumThe ForumThe Forum

This is where the Romans conducted their business and is located behind Rome´s current City Hall. The Romans fascinate me. They were way ahead of their time. We still use a lot of their culture today.
was the Coliseum. Quite impressive place. I pulled myself away from this place and walked back down the long flight of stairs to the street level and made my way down to the ruins. I walked through the forum area and saw the Senate Building and to the Coliseum. I can not describe this area. I try to imagine myself walking down the street in my Roman garb with the hustle and bustle of commerce going on all around me. It really is quite easy to do with very little imagination as the ruins are still quite nice. By no means did see it all nor did I get a chance to walk atop Palatine Hill. I may have to stay here a little longer than I expected. They didn't build Rome in a day that is for sure. Man it seems like I have heard that somewhere before?

I walked over to the Coliseum and was equally impressed by it. I read where it could hold 50,000 people. I just saw an older guy walk through the hostel with a pair of snow skis. Why is he carrying those things in Rome. He and his wife girlfriend are
ColliseumColliseumColliseum

Excuse me. Can you tell me how to get to the Colliseum?
in their 50's. I suspect if you sat down and talk to them for awhile you could here some wild stuff. I suspect after they were done telling their story however you would like your lifestyle a whole lot better. Last night I walked in the restroom and I saw where somebody was running water over a beer can. I turned the water off and immediately guy walked around the corner and in his best English he asked if there was a problem in his best English which was pretty broken. I told him no there was no problem and he turned if back on stood there by it. I guess he was trying to cool it off. I am sure that was a reasonably good way to cool it off to water temperature anyway but it seemed a little wasteful to me. It was this same guy. He walked with a limp as well so not sure if he has some sort of disability or what but evidently it still allows him to ski. Maybe he has bad knees not sure. One thing is true you meet interesting people in all shapes and sizes and ages and experiences etc.
Colliseum - Pic 3Colliseum - Pic 3Colliseum - Pic 3

A replication of the original floor is shown on the one end of the Colliseum. The animals and combatants were below the floor and raised up through the floor to fight.
Etc. Etc. I am not saying that trying to illicit bad connotations. All and all they have served me well and I think they are great ideas and a great way to travel on a budget.

I went into the Coliseum and was fascinated by the trap doors they used to raise and lower the animals. I met a couple Dutch women. That is a very unique language and I recognize it pretty easily now. The were mother and daughter. It amazes me how many women travel in general. I mainly see small groups but you do some women traveling by their self. As I walked to the different levels of the Coliseum I ran across a museum. It was essentially the same erotic stuff that was in the Archaeological Museums secret room. I really think they would be better off not making such a big deal about the room and calling it a secret room. When you tell somebody something is wrong, or not to do it provokes a person to do or in this case go to. If they didn't make such a big deal about it I suspect it wouldn't be a bid deal. Here in
Triniti Dei FontiTriniti Dei FontiTriniti Dei Fonti

Are something like that.
Rome just a few miles north of Naples you have the same stuff.

I was impressed by the Coliseum but needed to move on. The last thing I wanted to see today was the Pyramid. It was pretty far south of everything else I wanted to get that knocked off today so I wouldn't need to come this far south. I assumed the picture of the coliseum was shown correctly on the map so I headed in the direction accordingly with out placing much concern on street names. On the way to the pyramid I got off a little and ended up walking a little farther as a result. I should have used the street names. The pyramid wasn't all that impressive to me so I decided to get on the metro and head to St. Peters Square. That is my favorite place in Rome. There is something magical about it. I took the metro ride which lasted about 10 minutes. The bad thing however about subways is you do not get to see the City because most of the time you are underground. The good thing however is they are fast and easy to understand in comparison to
Rome City HallRome City HallRome City Hall

I tried to walk in this building. They ask me what my business is and I told them tourism. Surprisingly that did not grant me access.
bus schedules.

Man this hostel kitchen is really bustling. There was a large group of French kids arrived the last couple of days. They are quite the fashionable bunch. I like their fashion but it is just not my style to be very fashion minded. The Italians are fashion minded as well but it seems to be a little different style. To me is seems a little more grungy in general and what I considered less classy. Although the French's style reminds of a preppy fraternity and sorority wardrobe which is something I am not fond of. The Greek system is about looking and being cool. Most of them I met tended to brag a lot and were a little into there brothers or sorority sisters. They practiced segregation n my mind. Segregation is not a good thing in my mind. You should learn to about and accept all peoples not just your fraternity brother or sorority sister. Also they seem to condone irresponsible behavior with the drinking and with women and men for that matter. Just not a big fan of the Greek system. As I have said before pretty much everyone that has told me about their
The SenateThe SenateThe Senate

I think in this building is where Julies Ceasar was killed? Not sure.
sorority or fraternity would kind of apologize for it in the way they said it. The ones that didn't were pretty materialistic people. Anyway that is my opinion, but as the saying goes everyone has a butt hole as well.

Once getting off of the metro I walked down to St. Peter's Square and into the Basilica. As I walked that way I talked to some guy and his son from New York. Not sure why or how the conversation started, but he said they were here for the tennis tournament. The tournament was right next to the hostel. Actually Olympic Stadium is right near the hostel as well. I heard someone say that they built if for the Olympics whenever they were here. Sounds like a good reason to me. That's a long way to go to see tennis. I think they said it was in between season or something and I guess they needed there tennis fix. They mentioned something about seeing Michelangelo's Pieta. I told him I didn't know a thing about it.

There was no line as it was late in the day and I walked in. I would encourage anybody that comes here,
Another Roman BasilicaAnother Roman BasilicaAnother Roman Basilica

I forget it's name, but this is an amazing Basilica.
and you should as it is a phenomenal place. I know they always teach the early bird gets the worm but in this case I think you are much better off going later in the day.

One word to describe this place, Wow. Ok since it is such an enormous place I should get two words. The second word is Amazing.

What a place. At first glance you are taken back by the sure enormity. This place is huge. And then the huge statues caught my eye. As I walked around with my month open and my head looking up I just couldn't think really anything but Wow. What a place.

I saw the Pieta and didn't know a thing about it. I learned later that he made it when he was 23 which was an amazing feat for someone so young. It portrays Mary as a much younger lady than most portrayals and is a picture of her holding Jesus after he had passed. It is a great work and it is hard to believe someone had made that from stone. It was to the right of the church as you walk in. Man this hostel
Gambling NunsGambling NunsGambling Nuns

These nuns were buying lottery tickets. Do you think they will tell their boss to shove it and quit there day jobs if they win.
is hopping. I suspect their has been 500 people come through this place already and it is now 8:30.

I mainly just walked around the Basilica and tried to absorb it. To me the church even though has so many statues and paintings and chapels it still to me seemed simple. It didn't seem cluttered. It was easy for me to take each thing for what it was and not to get it mixed up with other things. It seemed the spacing was phenomenal. Near the end of the Basilica in the middle of the church latitudally, at the alter over where St. Peter is buried their is this joint bronze looking structure that appears enormous, but almost weightless. There were lots of detail, but it still seemed to not be cluttered. It was simple but yet complex. I knew I needed to see this again before I leave. I finally after about an hour of being awed I decided to head out. As the terminator says "I'll be back".

I walked back to the Hostel. Man I did some walking to day. I am not sure how far I walked, but it was far. This is the
Vatican CrazienessVatican CrazienessVatican Crazieness

These are some crazy paintings which I encountered as I was walking from the Sistene Chapel.
most folks I have ever seen in this hostel. I bet there are 70 kids waiting in line for breakfast. I keep waiting for the line to get less but it just seems to grow. This is the longest it has been all day. I would like to eat now, but I wait longer. I just asked the people here and they said they can have as many as 400 guest. I told them it seemed like 800 has went through the breakfast line. I suspect they will be out of hard boiled eggs which I have been enjoying daily. I am also doing laundry as well as I am leaving Rome today. I definitely want to come back to this place.

That night I had a very nice "home cooked" like meal at the hostel. It was much needed and enjoyed it immensely. I spent most of the night typing and enjoyed a diet coke. Right before calling it a night I had a beer. I was exhausted and was ready to hit the hay. I took the beer back to the bed room which I thought they might call me on as I do not thing beer
Sistene ChapelSistene ChapelSistene Chapel

Here's the good stuff.
is allowed but instead they were very relaxed about it. I talked to a guy from Chile in the room. He was an architect in that country and just traveling for a couple weeks. I finished the beer and was ready to hit the hay. I was absolutely exhausted having not had but a few hours sleep the last couple of days. Maybe I go to Assisi for sleep. That sounds like a great place to catch up on sleep, but Rome is not the place.

5-21-07
I awoke about 6:30 and man I slept hard. It was like I was sleeping too hard to even dream. It was weird really. It felt like I was being pushed down in the bed at times. It was like someone was holding me down saying do not even think about getting up buddy you need to sleep. I can't remember feeling like that before. I know in the prior 48 hours I had slept maybe 4 hours. I awoke fresh and ready to go. I thought I might have a little hangover effect from the prior sleepless nights, but no I felt pretty good.

I headed down stairs to type
Vatican City CompoundVatican City CompoundVatican City Compound

This is behind St. Peter's Basilica.
for awhile and get some breakfast. About 9:00 I felt rushed to get going all of the sudden. I wanted to run by a few of the things I had seen the day prior just to make sure the were indeed as amazing as they appeared the day before. The only new stuff planned was the Trinita Dei Monte, Palatine Hill, the drains in the floor of the Pantheon, the Cupola at St. Peters and the Sistine Chapel. As I walked to these places I would make sure to revisit some of the places previously seen. Sounds like a pretty good way to spend the afternoon don't you think?

I walked back upstairs to get the room for another night. The person at the desk said that room is completely full and you are going to have to move to another room. Damn this was going to take some time to do. I shrugged my shoulders and began the move. I had padlocked my locker shut and couldn't get the lock to work. It was a lock that I had bought in London and I really did not like it from day one. As I had used it more
Vatican City ArtworkVatican City ArtworkVatican City Artwork

Of all the art I have seen on this trip my uneducated eye says the Vatican's is the best.
often however I got to thinking I had judged this lock a little too harsh. It really does not work too badly. This time however I couldn't get it at all to open. I tried countless times and nothing. I took a few of my things that I had laying around to the room thinking maybe the celestial bodies would align their self a little differently as I was gone allowing for the lock to open are maybe diving intervention would set in as we were in Rome. When I got back unfortunately however neither of these happened or at least if they did it did not help to open this lock.

Finally I decided to just get it cut off. I told the front desk I needed the lock cut. They got big cutters and did the deed.

As I walked to the subway, which is about a 3/4 mile walk I could feel a little tiredness in the legs, but not too bad. I was definitely going to use the subway as much as possible. In the subway I got my ticket from the machine and got on my train. Everything went smoothly and I felt like a local knowing everything to do. I got off at the Faminimo stop while have gotten on at the Octavino stop. They were only two stops apart and normally I would have walked it but as stated before I was feeling a little walked out. At the Faminio stop I saw Piazza Del Poppolo. It was a very nice and large Piazza with an Obelisk in the middle but for Rome's standards no bid deal. There was a huge park right beside it but I didn't walk through it which is something I normally would have done. I was going to rent a bike here but really decided I probably would not have seen stuff interesting enough to warrant a whole day for. I decided rather than do that I would get a move on and spend a night in another City instead. From there I walked to the Trinita Dei Monti which is mainly just a big set of steps. It is ok but nothing to special. There were lots of other people there though checking it out. Most people were carrying guidebooks which to totally appreciate Rome you really need one but I didn't have one. The
St. Peter's BasilicaSt. Peter's BasilicaSt. Peter's Basilica

Michelangelo's Pieta. This is the Good Stuff.
map I have, stated the Top Ten things to do in Rome and since I am a Dave Letterman fan I decided to go with it. Next time I will study more about it before coming.

I continued on to the Trevi Fountain. This was one of the things I like a lot and decided to ensure I would have a safe return back to Rome and drank the water and flipped a coin over my shoulder into the water. Somebody came up with this superstition I assume the Romans before they went off to war. Maybe the pool boy circulated the roomer and is now retired at the early age of 25 on the Island of Capri.

From there to the Pantheon. I was looking for the holes in the floor of the Pantheon from which water drains when it rains through the center hole in the roof. Then over to the monument of Victor Emmanuelle II which is ridiculous in size. I walked on a different side of the monument today than yesterday and saw another big building. I walked in and the guy at the front desk stated this was City Hall and was not
St. Peter's BasilicaSt. Peter's BasilicaSt. Peter's Basilica

This is a speacial place especially at night.
a tourist stop. Just on the back side of this building is the forum where all the business use to take place. Also of course the Senate was near this building as well. Therefore this seemed like historically the perfect place for the City Hall. I walked through the forum again and saw all the ruins laying everywhere. I stopped to peak inside the Senate and then walked to the Palatine Hill area. This was a fee area and I decided not to go in. Rome was not built in a day nor can you see all of Rome in two days. I had been in the fast paced City of Naples and now Rome for about 5 days now and new the next day which is Tuesday I was ready to head to the Hill Country for some quiet time. I really like what St. Francis of Assisi stood for so to honor him I may head there for a day or relaxing and contemplate. Not sure how much actual contemplating I will do but it seemed to fit well in the last sentence. I have not drank much at all on this trip and think maybe I will
St. Peter's BasilicaSt. Peter's BasilicaSt. Peter's Basilica

A picture from the castle towards St. Peter's Basilica.
drink a bottle of a dry red. I walked near the coliseum and on past it on my way to San Giovani. Did not know a thing about this place but thought I would swing by. I had heard mention by some women from Britain that their is a key that you can look through at a park near a church. This was one of the churches they mentioned to have a key. I was confused about having a key and looking through a key hole but I thought since I was in the area I would see what was there. As I walked past the Coliseum it seemed I could smell cow manure. I am not sure if maybe the manure is still lodged between the bricks are what. I know it is probably from current horsed drawn carriage rides in the area, but whatever animal it came from it smelled like cow manure to me. I actually do not mind the smell of cow manure. It doesn't smell too bad it is pig manure that really stinks. Ok while in Rome we do not talk about manure there are a billion other things to talk about. This is
Bridge over the TiberBridge over the TiberBridge over the Tiber

Bridge over the Tiber River with St. Peter's Basilica in the background.
Rome. It is still hard to believe I am here.

When I got to San Giovanni I was amazed at how big the Basilica was. I had entered through a side door and not the front and was truly amazed at the size. There was lots of nice detail in the church as well. This church is enormous and awesome but it just wasn't the same as St. Peter's Basilica. It seemed busier to me although very nice. I was thinking how I almost missed this place. For me I would have rather seen this Basilica than the steps at Trinity Dei Monti. I wonder how many other places like this I am missing.

As I walked around I had tried several sunglass stores for fit over sunglasses but no one has them. I sure wish I would have bought those in the Dolomites. I also have been looking for a fanny pack bag for day trips as my fanny pack was about shot. Luck had come my way as I did find a bag from a street vendor. I wasn't going to let this deal go by so I now have a new bag for 8 euros and I transferred the items to it and I was back in business. I sent the fanny pack to the trash can. It had served me well for many years and I am appreciative of that.

I was getting increasingly fatigued and decided to sit down and have lunch as it was about 2:00 and I was a little ahead of schedule as I wanted to be back at St. Peters at 3:00 in hopes the lines would be short. I had a pannine sandwich which are so popular in Italy but in my mind not all that great. When in Rome eat what the Romans eat right? I got on the subway and headed back to St. Peters with my new bag, a full belly and tired legs.

I got off at the Octavino stop or the Saint Petro stop and headed for the Basilica in a very fast paced walk nearing a run. I really wanted to get everything down today which included going to the Cupola, Sistine Chapel, as well as going through the Basilica.

I asked a couple ladies where the Sistine Chapel tickets are and they directed me back outside the building
Trevi FountainTrevi FountainTrevi Fountain

If you throw a coin over your shoulder it guarantees a safe return to Rome. I of course did it as I want to return to Rome.
and up around it. I was way off. I essentially ran in that direction and as I had hoped essentially no line. I walked right in and got the ticket and after a short wait was walking through the Vatican's personal collection of art and sculptures. I must say it is quite impressive and the best I have seen. The marble sculptures were particularly impressive. There were animal sculptures and of course people that were absolutely amazing. I now understood what the ladies meant by saying it took them an hour to go through it. Pretty much everybody that goes through there at a price of 13 euros has the primary purpose of seeing the work by Michelangelo in Sistine Chapel. Everything else is of lesser importance but to me it was still brilliant. Again I assumed the awed position with the mouth slightly opened and the head leaning back. The whole place was amazing. Of course my American roots came through as I wondered how much all this cost and would sell for on the Open Market. I would have to think in the trillions of dollars. The building itself is probably in the trillions. It's really unfathomable to
St. Peters PlazaSt. Peters PlazaSt. Peters Plaza

It is hard to capture the preciousness of this place in a camera lens.
me. The Vatican is quite the compound to understate it dramatically. After walking through many rooms with frescoes, sculptures, paintings etc. And walking down several hallways and staircases we finally made it to the infamous Sistine Chapel which was chaos. The place was wall to wall people and it really is not that big of a room. People were snapping pictures left and right. While everyone else in the room where taking pictures of the paintings I was taking pictures of the people trying to capture the chaos. I was probably the only person in there that day that was taking pictures of the people. There were a couple security guards walking around telling people no photos. It was such a joke with regards to the no picture taking policy. If they really wanted no one to take pictures they could enforce it much better than they did. People went on taking pictures. After my first picture of the people a guard told me no photos. I planned to stop but no one else was stopping so I wanted just one of the pictures behind the Alter. And then I took one of the ceilings in one random location with
St. Peters BasilicaSt. Peters BasilicaSt. Peters Basilica

Inside the Basilica. This is my favorite place on the trip so far. I realize I somewhat botched this photo but trust me this place is awesome.
the camera held at my waist. This was one of the times it was not good to be tall as I stuck out a lot more. The guards were trying to get the people to continue moving out of the room but it was obvious those people did not want to move. I had my picture of the people in that room and moseyed on out of there. There were a few more amazing chapel like areas and frescoes as you exited. There were souvenirs for sale throughout the Vatican museum. This is one of the most amazing places I have ever been to.

From there I essentially ran back to the Basilica and went to the right of the church, where you buy the tickets and decided to go for the audio tour as well for a mere 5.00 euros. I normally do not get the audio tours, but this time I thought I would as this is one of the more amazing places I have been too. I told the guy of my plans to get to the Cupola and through the Basilica. He thought I had time, but said the audio tour radios must be back
St. Peters Basilica - Some Dead GuySt. Peters Basilica - Some Dead GuySt. Peters Basilica - Some Dead Guy

I was shocked to see this guy in a see through coffin. Not sure why they did this. It seems a little crazy to me.
before 7:00 when they close. I immediately went to the cupola line. It was 4 euros to take the steps and 7 euros to use the elevator. I of course took the steps.

It was 350 steps at the top of the elevator and I am not sure how many more before that but it was significant. Nothing close however like the steps on the Amalfi Coast by the way my calves still hurt from. I still remember almost falling down when I got to that last step as my calves were giving out. Once to the elevator was when things got interesting as at that point you had the people that really were out of shape. I think the younger crowd pushed the older crowd because it was single file all the way up the steps and the older people had a younger person always on there heels. A couple people did have to pause for a short period of time and let people pass when they did.

At one point you enter an area which is in top of the Basilica dome and you can see the people down below. There was actually a mass going
Inside St. Peters Basilica Inside St. Peters Basilica Inside St. Peters Basilica

A little better shot inside the church.
on in the chapel to the left of the main Alter of the Basilica. There was an outer dome beyond the main dome and the steps were inside this area. You had to lean to your right as you climbed in this area because of the curved dome.


5-21-07 A

I finally decided to pull myself away from the Basilica and return the audio guide as that needed to be returned before 7:00 and I was within 10 minutes of that time. I returned it and got my deposited drivers license and began the grueling walk back to the Hostel. I thoroughly dreaded the walk back. I tried to think of reasons why I should not come back. I thought well by the time I make it back the moon will be too high in the sky and it will not result in good pictures. I realized however it would be even more full tonight than the first night I was there and would be rising even later than then. I tried to think of other reasons but were just not coming up with them. I thought of taking a cab and so no I am not
Inside St. Peters Basilica Inside St. Peters Basilica Inside St. Peters Basilica

The Alter over St. Peter's Tomb.
taking a cab as that is too expensive. I decided finally that I had to come back.

When making it back to the hostel I went straight to the restaurant and grabbed supper. I had some pork which contained beans and they gave me some pasta without even asking. The Italians just assume you want pasta. I also had some spinach which I thought I might need for Popeye like strength and some potatoes. The total bill came to over 11 euros which is more than I thought but oh well. It's cheaper than a nice meal in a Ristorante. It was very filling and I enjoyed it much. From there I went to my room and laid down for about 25 minutes then I had to go back to St. Peters. I indeed felt like I had more energy now than before. I stopped and grabbed some Gelato just for that added boost of energy.

As I got closer to the Piazza I felt energized again. I had a little hop in my step which increased to a jump once going through the columns and actually walking onto the bricks of the Piazza. Again the thoughts and questions resumed like Am I really in Rome, Is this Really St. Peter's Piazza. Another surreal moment came across me as it so often has done on this trip. It was a great high. The moon was pretty high in the sky already so I got right with the shutter bugging. Again my memory card was full and I needed to stop and delete pictures. I deleted the pictures that are already on the blog first. I hope this last disc burning of the pictures works for mom who said the first disc did not. I think it is just a matter of formatting in Europe compared to the US. I discovered every picture that was taken with a flash resulted in a yellowing. I had my tripod tonight so holding the camera steady was not too difficult but positioning of the camera just right was a times difficult. I got down and laid on the bricks to get a better view through the view finder, which is positioned only about 4 inches above the brick pavers as the tripod is only that tall.

After taking a few pictures in the center of the Piazza I moved up near the entrance to the Basilica and took a couple pictures of the clock. One picture was right after it rang at 11:00 pm. I then wanted to walk to the castle and take a night picture of the Basilica from near the castle. On the way there I remembered how cool a view of the castle you had from the bridge just downstream from the castle. I walked there and indeed the view was spectacular at night as well. I took a couple pictures and as I did their were a couple shady characters walk the past and I put the camera firmly in my possession when they were close. I didn't care that much about the camera itself but it was the memory card that I most valued.

From there I walked over to the castle itself and got a great view of St. Peter's Basilica with the roadway to it all lit up. The picture turned out great and will become one of those pictures on this trip that I truly cherish. To date I only have about 20 pictures that fit in this category. And I suspect this will be one of those. I told another lady of that great location and she said she had gotten some great pictures of the angels on the bridge. She said the one angel you can also include St. Peter's Basilica in the background. I thought capturing the angels with the 1/2 crescent moon in the background might turn out to be great pictures so I went over there and tried to make an Angelic picture. I tried valiantly to get a good picture just so the moon was positioned over there shoulder. I jumped up on the railing on the opposite side of the bridge and positioned the camera just so on the tripod to get the desired picture. I was thinking I need to be a little more careful as the last thing I need is to fall off this bridge into the Tiber River right near the Angelo Castle. Now that would be a story though one I would not live to tell.

I got my pictures not really knowing if any of them were that good with the exception of the one with the road to the Basilica which will become a classic I believe. From there I walked back to St. Peter's Basilica and got me a super sized drink from the fountain just outside the columns on the northeast side of the Piazza. There were about 4 locations to get drinks from at this fountain. This was the first time I had seen this fountain. Several people were also getting drinks. I love the aspects that all these locations around Rome have potable water for consumption. I pulled myself away from the magnetism I had for this area and headed back to the Hostel with a little sorrow in my heart as is common when someone says goodbye to a place that he becomes attracted to. I remember hating to leave the duck blind preseason when we had went out to watch the ducks fly in the evening. I would always feel a little sad when I had to turn my eyes from the sky and getting in the boat to go in. That is something I have always cherished. It seems however as time passes the opportunities to do that have decreased. I can't remember the last time I went out at sunset to watch the ducks fly.

As I got farther from St. Peters Piazza my steps seemed to quicken and the load lighten. I was really energized spending that time around the Basilica. I went from being tired to feeling energized. It is amazing how emotions can elicit such an energetic response. The walk back went pretty quickly and I made it there around 11:30. I had a great evening out and was so glad I had went. I shut my eyes with a smile on my face and French words in my ears. Them damn French kids outside in the hallways had better go to bed soon! Ahh Hostel living.



Advertisement



15th July 2007

Another great update, Dave. Keep up the good work - you'll be so glad to have all this information and pictures in the years to come. Rob and I are always glad to see an email update in the old inbox. Have you considered buying another memory card?
16th July 2007

My break from work
Hi Dave. I don't want to admit how often I check your site. It has become an addiction at work. When I can't take my little grey cube a minute longer, I check out your blog. When my 'To Do' list starts to overwhelm me, I go to your site. When the sales guys won't stop calling...well, you get the picture. I am so freakin jealous, I have to bite my tongue when reading your journal. Although, I don't think I could do the hostel living thing. But other than that... So two questions -- I read a lot of travel memoirs, so I was wondering if you're reading anything like that while you're traveling? You know, getting other people's impressions of these places to compare your own thoughts to? Second--How difficult would it be for a woman to do what you're doing? Do only see women traveling in pairs? Kris
17th July 2007

Good Questions
First of all thanks for following. It is a lot of work to keep doing it, but knowing other people are checking it out helps me to continue with the blog. I don't sleep much. Do I read others blog. No, I am just so busy traveling I really have no spare time. It takes a lot of time to make lodging arrangements to see the City's and try to work in a little rest and relaxation. Yes at times this trip seems like work. I know every person is going to come away from a place with different observations and opinions. Each traveler meets a few locals and a few other travelers, each traveler is at a different stage of their trip, each traveler has different knowledge of the place their visiting etc. etc. There is so many things that effects a persons opinion of a place. My perception of a place I know is often going to be a lot different. About the blog. I originally thought to keep a personal journal and one for public consumption. I soon learned there is just no way I could do that as it would take too much time. I know some of the stuff that I write may be controversial and generally are just my opinions. A lot of my opinions have changed from when I started this trip and now, so if you read just one part of the blog you may not get my current opinion on a topic. I fear upsetting people with my opinions, but I hope they realize that they are just that, opinions. I really didn't expect people to read the blog, but rather just look at the pictures, but some people are reading it. Can a single woman do a trip like this. Sure but you would need to take a few more precautions than I do. I have only had one incidence and that was pickpocket attempt in Barcelona. When coming out of a subway, I looked down and found a hand in my pocket that wasn't mine. He got nothing as everything was zipped up in a cargo pocket. I took a picture of the guy and his coworker and will have it in a future blog update. I do see women traveling alone. It is more safe in Europe than it is in the USA with reagards to being murdered. There are stealing crimes here but not many violent crimes. Traveling by yourself is great because you can do and go to the places you want and when you want. You also meet a lot more people. If traveling by yourself you are less likely to talk to other people as you will often be talking to the person you are traveling with. I can give you more information when I get back about this stuff. Well I just got into Berlin, from Krakow heading to Copenhagen, Bergen, Oslo, Helsinki then fly to Vienna, Salzburg, Munich from which I will fly back home on August 15 staying for a couple weeks before continuing the trip. Not sure when the next blog entry will be. I am way behind as it is hard to do on the road. L8TR!
17th July 2007

Good Questions
First of all thanks for following the blog. It is a lot of work to keep doing it, but knowing other people are checking it out helps me to continue with the blog. I don't sleep much. Do I read others blogs? No, I am just so busy traveling I really have no spare time. It takes a lot of time to make lodging arrangements to see the City's and try to work in a little rest and relaxation. Yes at times this trip seems like work. I know every person is going to come away from a place with different observations and opinions. Each traveler meets only a few locals and only a few other travelers from which they are going to have different experiences, each traveler is at a different stage of their trip as your attitude changes the longer your on the road, each traveler has different knowledge of the place their visiting as the more you know about a place the more you will enjoy it etc. etc. There is so many things that effects a persons opinion of a place. My perception of a place I know is often going to be a lot different. About the blog. I originally thought to keep a personal journal and one for public consumption. I soon learned there is just no way I could do that as it would take too much time. I know some of the stuff that I write may be controversial and generally are just my opinions. A lot of my opinions have changed from when I started this trip and now, so if you read just one part of the blog you may not get my current opinion on a topic. I fear upsetting people with my opinions, but I hope they realize that they are just that, opinions. I really didn't expect people to read the blog, but rather just look at the pictures, but some people are reading it. Can a single woman do a trip like this? Sure, but you would need to take a few more precautions than I do. I have only had one incidence and that was a pickpocket attempt in Barcelona. When coming out of a subway, I looked down and found a hand in my pocket that wasn't mine. He got nothing as everything was zipped up in a cargo pocket. I took a picture of the guy and his coworker and will have it in a future blog update. I do see women traveling alone. It is more safe in Europe than it is in the USA with reagards to violent crimes. There are stealing crimes here. Traveling by yourself is great because you can do and go to the places you want and when you want. You also meet a lot more people. If traveling with another you are less likely to talk to other people as you will often be talking to the person you are traveling with. I can give you more information when I get back about this stuff. Well I just got into Berlin, from Krakow heading to Copenhagen, Bergen, Oslo, Helsinki then fly to Vienna, Salzburg, Munich from which I will fly back home on August 15 staying for a couple weeks before continuing the trip. Not sure when the next blog entry will be. I am way behind as it is hard to do on the road. Most of the updates will happen when I am back in the states. L8TR!
17th July 2007

Thanks
Thanks for following. I look forward to getting a couple sails in on Carlyle Lake. I hope that it is not as windy as the day you guys went out with me. I will never forget your kids asking for permission to board. That was funny!
29th July 2007

You are way behind!? Get to work!
6th August 2007

Get Internet Service
If somebody had internet service I would not be so far behind ;)
14th August 2007

Still with you
Dave it appears that you've had the time of your life, and it continues. Now you're going to have to take a year off to put a book together. :)
16th November 2007

Aloha Dave
Even though I guess I am theoretically "traveling" now, your blogs/pictures make me long to pack up and hit the road/plane/train/boat again. I will be heading to Europe in March. I need to get some must do's from you. Earplugs. I always carry them for those noisy hostel/couchsurfing stays.
18th November 2007

Let's Chat
When I get to Oahu we can chat. In summary for me the best nature is Austria, best culture Southern Italy. Best country to visit Italy. I could talk for hours about the stuff in Europe.

Tot: 0.627s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 17; qc: 97; dbt: 0.3444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb