Stranger in a Strange Land


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Amsterdam Airport, June 26 -
The airport here doesn't really feel foreign at all. All of the annoucements are in English (the moving sidewalks tell you to "mind your step") and the attempts at guilt are rather ham-handed ("You are delaying flight , your baggage will be removed from plane") compared to the finely honed barbs I'm used to. Also, the shops accept dollars.
There are subtle reminders that you're in a different place, though. The Tic-Tacs in Europe are spherical. Nudity pervades newsstands, bookstores and children's toys. Tobacco and alcohol are freely consumed in public places. And the duty-free shops sell pre-packaged whole smoked mackerel.
But just when you think, "Gee, I'm really out of place here," you see groups of people clustered around TV screens watching live coverage of Paris Hilton being released from prison. It's a small world after all.
Moving on - All roads lead to Rome.

Rome, Yellow Hostel, June 26 (I think) -
It's difficult to tell how many hours I've been awake for now, as I'm unsure how much I slept on the plane(s) and what the time difference is between Boston and Rome. I'll need to head to an internet cafe to upload my current photos, but for now, this will have to be a text-only message.
The flight from Amsterdam to Rome was terrifying - the turbulence was awful, and they were running late, so I think the pilot tried to make up lost time by taxiing as if here were driving a maserati. Never been that scared while on the ground. I think Alitalia has a deal with the Vatican to make Catholics return to the fold by scaring their passengers witless. I nearly said a hail mary. Next time, I'm taking Lufthansa - at least the Germans know how to fly.
The folks here at the Yellow are a little on the young side - mostly early twenties. They seem to be rather excited about tonight's pub crawl. Pass. While I do love seeing the sites, I think I'll manage with clear vision. Tomorrow: the Collesium, the Cirq and other sites and sounds.

-Eric

Advertisement



26th June 2007

Hi Eric!
Hi Eric!
6th July 2007

Hi Julie!
Hi Julie!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb