Rome Day 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was another fun-filled day in Rome. I took the Metro and stopped at San Pietro in Vincoli (St. Peter in Chains), a very nice church/basilica. From there I walked a few blocks to tour the Colosseum. The entire place was crowded, and extremely massive, and I got in free. Apparently I lucked out on the time of the trip, as most places had their normal entry fees waved for the weekend.
After finishing the Colosseum, I headed to the Foro Roman (the Roman Forum), the ruins of which are quite extensive. Of course, in the middle of the ruins my digital camera's 1GB memory card maxed out. So until my film gets developed, the remaining pictures from the trip won't be posted. Next to the ruins, were the remains of the Circus Maximus (where the Romans held chariot races and such). The place has basically been converted into a park / jogging track. I then made my way to the Tiber River, walking across a bridge to a small river island called Isola. The place had an interesting little church, but it seemed to be mostly hotels and condos.
Making my way to the Pantheon, I stopped at the an the ruins of a part of the city called Area Sacra. The ruins there were just kinda in a random spot in the middle of the downtown area. Of course, the Pantheon was crowded as well. But it was most impressive. From there, I headed back to the hostel; making my last stop at the Piazza Navona to see Bernini's Fountain of the four rivers. Of the three fountains in the piazza, only the two outer ones were visible, as the main fountain was surrounded by scaffolding (for restoration).
Before calling it a night, I headed to a nice little Italian restaurant, where I had cannelloni, grilled chicken, and a salad for dinner.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb