More of Ancient Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Ostia Antica
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ostia Antica AmplitheatreOstia Antica AmplitheatreOstia Antica Amplitheatre

The 4,000 seat Amplitheatre in Ostia Antica.
I went to Ostia Antica, an ancient Roman city (somewhat like Pompeii), which is 30 minutes out of Rome by train. It is quite amazing. There is a 4000 seat amplitheatre intact (check my gallery for the picture), and a full city to see, including old apartment buildings and cellars. You are allowed to walk inside (and in some cases, upstairs of) most of the ruins. It took me 3 hours to get through, although I did not go through every single part of it.

I also saw the Pantheon, which is huge, and the Piazza Novana, which is currently the host of an American-style carnival (games, food, etc.).

I should note that although the Roman subway cars look ugly from the outside, they are very clean on the inside. The buses are clean both inside and out.

Food here is more expensive than food in the U.S. (extreme example: outside the colloseum, €2,50, over $3 US for a can of soda!). However, the upside is the food is much better, made from all natural ingredients and no processed garbage. Even the McDonalds look like reputable establishments (I still won't eat at them out of principle).

Despite
Ostia Antica Amplitheatre SignOstia Antica Amplitheatre SignOstia Antica Amplitheatre Sign

A latin dedication on the side of the amplitheatre in Ostia Antica.
being January, Rome is very crowded and packed with tourists. I've practiced not only my Italian, but also my French and German speaking with tourists. I've met many Anglophone tourists, from America, England, Ireland and Australia. Despite being low-season, there is definately no shortage of tourists here.

And again, everyone is extremely nice here. I went into an Amex to get more Euros, and the man told me I'd get a 6.5% commission charge. He then told me if I wanted them cheaper I should go to the Banca di Roma across the street. He effectively turned away my business to help me out. Shopkeepers must be aware my Italian is awful, but they let me use it and don't give any weird or rude looks at me for it.

There might be a delay in my next update, as tonight I'll be off to Napoli so I can see Pompeii tomorrow, and the next evening I'll be on a night train to Paris. Enjoy for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Ostia Antica- Snack Shop Ostia Antica- Snack Shop
Ostia Antica- Snack Shop

The ruins (although not really ruined) of an Ancient Roman snack shop.
Ostia Antica Snack Shop (Me)Ostia Antica Snack Shop (Me)
Ostia Antica Snack Shop (Me)

Me at the counter of the snack shop in Ostia Antica (earlier pictured).
The PantheonThe Pantheon
The Pantheon

The ancient Roman Pantheon, now a Catholic Church.


Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb