The end of Dante


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Ravenna
August 24th 2011
Published: May 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Took the one hour slow train up the coast to Ravenna. Wanted to locate a city map so I would be able to see everything that I wanted only to find the tourist information centre was actually in the middle of the town and to get there I probably would have had to see everything I was looking for anyway. With it being slightly inland there as no sea breeze so the heat was stifling. I took a long walk round the old streets towards the Basillica and the lovely squares full of merchants houses and theatres but in thet end had to call at a café and actually sit inside to benefit from a cold drink and the air con as it was too hot to go on without refreshments. A real treat was seeing Dante’s tomb as I have a long standing love for his writing after studying it at university. It was surrounded by a peaceful garden with a Church and monestary within the grounds too. After walking back up through the town I missed a train y just a few minutes so sat in a nearby park and read for a while. The next train took me half way back to Rimini to the beach resort of Bellaria. A beautiful little main street lined with cafes and bars lef down to the beach area. Literally that’s it… Bellaria in a nutshell…. Endless hotels and beaches crammed with people from those hotels. I took the opportunity to have my daily gelato, peach was the order of the day and utterly gorgeous it was too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb