Culture Shock


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Parma
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Man oh man, these past few days have been kind of hard on me. I have been pretty sick for 1, with a headcold and such. But I've also become pretty lonely (though this may have been intensified due to my being sick and all). Somehow, my initial proficiency in Italian has gone slowly downhill. I have no idea how that is even possible but I am no longer able to speak with my host family the way I used to when I first arrived here. My explanation? Maybe subconscious rejection of the Italian culture?

No idea... Anyway, Ive been missing home kind of a lot and this week has been really hard for me. The 40 min walk to school every morning in the freezing cold, and the fact that I have to think REALLY hard when I want to communicate makes it really difficult to get along right now. According to the emotional chart my school drew out for me, this feeling is normal and necessary for cultural immersion, but it really really sucks.

SO, all in all....I miss you all dearly and would kill to be with you...Sadly I am stuck here until this culture shock passes and I get happy again. But not worry, I am still loving it here...I just need to realize that I need to PUSH myself to really learn italian, because its not just going to come to me overnight.

Alright,
Ciao Ciao

Advertisement



8th February 2008

yooo. that happened to us to last year. you will get through it mama. just take it day by day. and enjoy it. its hard i told u at first but it gets easier and easier. love u

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb