Almost Home


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
May 31st 2010
Published: May 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm back at Il Granello, the first farm I worked on on this trip. I think it's quite appropriate that I'm ending the trip in the same place I started it - consequently also my favorite farm. I find myself so well here - my energy is strong and stable, it's peaceful, beautiful. This is the place where I fell in love with organic agriculture. It's a really special place for me, a good place to reflect on trip and bring it to a close.

Highlights since I've arrived on Il Granello: the birth of 7ducklings to a surrogate egg-sitter-hen-mother. They are hilarious and adorable. Elisa and Romano's first Slow Food market in Bologna - went great. Lorenzo's First Communion and the accompanying festa - the food was especially delicious and I got a nice taste not only of Catholic Italy but of that traditional "Italian family gathering" that has made itself famous overseas.

Since it's the last blog entry of the trip, I thought about writing some big reflection. But that could go on and on, and in the end I can't really put into words all that I've seen, experienced, and gained from this trip. So I decided to do something totally stupid and look at my trip in numbers. They have absolutely nothing to do with how much I've learned or enjoyed myself. I was just talking to the other WWOOFer here yesterday about how the number of places you've been has nothing to do with the quality of experiences you've had. Anyway...

By the time I arrive in Chicago O'Hare I will have...

been underway for 8 months, 2 weeks, and 1 day; been in 7 different countries (outside the airport), spoken 6 different languages (not all fluently), slept in more than 41 different beds, visited 53 different cities, worked on 7 different farms, taken 7 flights, used 16 different modes of transportation, ruined 2 pairs of pants, been to 2 juggling conventions, used 4 different SIM cards, 3 different currencies, 3 foreign language dictionaries, stayed in 4 hostels and 1 hotel, and written 23 blog entries, consisting of 16,254 words. And 2 days, 7 hours, and 1 minute from now I will be on a place heading homeward (that one is actually headed to Dublin, where, lucky me, I get to have a sleepover in the airport in the 13 hours before my flight to Chicago).

But like I said, this trip is much more than the numbers. It has taught me more in 8 months than the public school system taught me in 13 years. I have had some of the most interesting and beautiful experiences of my life. I've learned so much about the world, other people, and myself.

For everyone who has been telling me throughout this trip, "I'm so jealous, I wish I could do that", I want to remind you that it's an actual possibility, and not just something you always dream about but never do. Even if you don't go as far or stay for as long. You are freer than you think. And travel is beautiful.

Thanks for your interest and support for what I'm doing. See you soon!


Advertisement



31st May 2010

great final blog
HI MADDY; WE LOVED YOUR BLOG AND CANT WAIT TO HEAR THE STORIES RIGHT FROM YOU. SEE YOU SOON. LOVE GRANDMA HENI AND GRANDPA DICK. XXXOOOO
31st May 2010

Bravo!
Maddy, A thoughtful piece for your final entry (though I think you should consider a longer reflection later, even if it's not part of your blog). I love that you were able to complete your trip at Il Granello, it seems so appropriate. I'm also thinking it will give you the perfect space to get complete with all you've seen and done. Can't wait to see you in less than a week. Dad
1st June 2010

Welcome home. I am glad you had such an amazing trip. I would love to hear about it. Let me know when you are speaking at Shir Tikvah. You are amazing young leader with so much spirit and talent and more. Words don't describe. yours, Caroline
5th June 2010

You're amazing
Maddy I have loved following your adventure and wish you all the best on the next phase of your journey. Shanti.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb