Im alone and surviving


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Sorrento
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For the first time EVER I am alone. On my own in Italy. I have to say for traveling alone, I spent very little time of it actually alone. Ive met some great people here that I wont forget. I wont forget the kindness shown to me here. I wont forget the scenery either.

I arrived in Sorrento in the early evening from Naples after taking the bus, and after some confusion I found my hostel and settled in and went to bed fairly early. I met a woman in my hostel from Skokie, which isnt far from where I grew up in Chicago. She was very sweet and I found out she was taking the bus with me to Rome. We talked for a while, and I slept very well for the first time in a while.

I woke up late the next morning with the intention to take the bus down to Almafi and Positano. While i was waiting at the bus stop I met this wonderful family and we began to chat. The Cambells are from Washington, and were absolutely wonderful. They adopted me for the day and let me tag along with them through Positano, then up to Ravello. They were so kind to me. We spent the day together then I joined them for dinner. They were wonderful company and reassured me that traveling alone wasnt so bad after all. I can make friends on the road. I truely enjoyed them and am eternally greatful for the hospitality they showed me.

Today I woke up and was suprised to find another traveler like my self sleeping across the way. She woke up not long after I did and we began to chat. Latoya is from Texas and she has been traveling through Europe for about a month now. She came with me to Capri today which was one of the most beautiful places on planet earth. If you get a chance I highly recommend going. We walked around and took in the scenery and talked about life, backpacking, and our experiences. It was a wonderful day. We came back to Sorrento for dinner and ate the BEST pizza across the street from our hostel and chatted.

I have been truly lucky on this trip. I think that these past few days have been proof that some people are put into your life for a reason, and that you are meant to be certain places at certain times. This was just one of those fated things and it has been so wonderful. I couldnt have imagined this being any better then it was. I really lucked out. This has been a wonderful few days.

Tomorrow I go to Rome and spend the day there, and then HOME.

Home is going to be weird I imagine. I'm going to want to tell everyone about my experiences here, but I dont think any one much cares or will understand. Everyone is going to ask how my trip was, and Im going to be religated to saying... oh wonderful and no more. I want to tell them how my life has changed as a result of this trip, but unless someone does something like this, I think its impossible for them to understand.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb