Pompeii and Herculaneum


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Pompei
August 5th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I got up reasonably early today and had breakfast with my host, who gave me some info about Pompeii. He suggested certain areas not to miss, how to get there, and suggested that I get the ArteCard, which was 27 euros and included two archeological sites plus transportation for all around the area (including getting to Sorrento tomorrow) for three days.

I got ready, got the card, and made my way to Pompeii. On the regional train platform at the main train station, there was an American couple who approached an American family and asked if they were in the right place. I overheard and said I was 95% sure it was right. Once aboard the correct train (I was right!) we chatted all the way to Pompeii. Boy, it's easy to meet people when you travel alone!

Pompeii is a really big site. There's so much to see, but sadly, many of the places that the audio guide describes are not open to the public. The guide would say things like "enter the front door and turn to your left. Do you see the big arch?" and no, I couldn't, because I couldn't enter the stupid place!

I did get to see the casts of the petrified people, but unfortunately, they were all behind glass. Not great for taking photos. I saw the amphitheater too, and it was quite big, though not as big as the Colosseum. I just seemed to wander for hours in the sun and heat, and after several hours, I'd had enough, even though I hadn't seen everything.

On the train back to Naples, I decided to stop in Herculaneum, since that was covered by my Artecard. It was a much smaller site, with fewer people, but lots of neat art work still on the walls, and lots more buildings you could enter. I'm glad I went there too, even though it may have been a bit of a brain overload to see that many ancient ruins in one day.

Tomorrow I'm off to Sorrento to see the Amalfi Coast. Can't wait!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb