Napoli - the ruined beauty


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
July 24th 2010
Published: June 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

24thJuly 2010 – Naples



Late afternoon arrival so not much time to do anything once I had checked into m central hotel with its huge discount from my friend who works for the chain. I needed to stretch my legs after the flight so walked the short distance to the municipal building and then down to the port to soak up a bit of sun and look at the amazing harbour views that I love so much in this city. I then picked up the tourist bus and did a loop of the panoramic route which goes up into the hills and gives sweeping views of the islands too. I remembered so much from my previous visits here. By the time I had done that it was getting later and a long day had taken its toll on me.





25th July – Naples



Up and about early to make the most of my tourist bus ticket. I got on the first historical line which goes round the old town and up to the Capadimonte house and parks. I got off there and walked through the beautiful park and had some amazing views from the top of the hill there. The art gallery there was closed which was a shame as I would have liked to visit. Completed the bus tour which went around the doom and the ancient small streets. Then swapped to a third bus route which only runs a few times a week which goes up into the Vomero hills. Elegant tree lined avenues and expensive houses were very much the order of the day. This really is a different Naples to the one below with all its run down building and peeling paint. The bus went to the top of the hills and to the Castello St Elmo for even more amazing views over the city and the harbour. A full day of sunshine was ruined that evening by an almighty storm which left mini floods in the streets, people wading ankle deep in the filthy water. Time to call it a night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb