Campania, Italy: My Plans For June


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Naples
May 26th 2010
Published: May 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This rainy spring ruins all my plans. Specially those to explore the most important barocco churches in Naples. The girls from our Archeological Group of Salerno wrote me a list and I just studied the itinerary... Nothing to do. Patience is virtue. ( Naples )

My last "invention" is to discover monasteries of the province of Salerno in search of different remedies made from medicinal herbs that are prepared in monasteries (digestive liquors etc). There are many monasteries, abbeys, convents in our zone, some of them very important. There are Benedectine monasteries too. So, I think, it's possible, some of them could continue the traditions of their ordens and of Salernitan Medical School too.

It's very interesting, this theme about ancient wisdom. It was very surprising for me to know that Champagne was invented by a Benedectine monk. I thought, it could be a good itinerary, to visit monasteries that continue to studie herbs till today. There are many of them in Tuscany, I found the list, but I thought: why I have to go so far if it's very possible I'll find them here too? Will see if I'll discover something special.

Finally, the last point of my plans for June is to visit "Miglio d'Oro", the chain of important villas under Vesuvius. Some of them are opend for visitors, they say. On June, 6 is the National Day of Villas d'Italy. I've never heard about these, near Naples, before. They say, they contain many beauties.

All this I'll describe in my travel blogs and in my articles. I have just to write articles about Longobards and about Normanns of Salerno. Well, hope, it will be ready to publish i short time.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb