Italian Adventure


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Capri
July 25th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

PompeiiPompeiiPompeii

A cast of a body caught in the ruins
We have had a great time when our friends Mandy and Duncan came to join us for the Italian Adventure a three day add-on adventure of Pompeii, Sorrento, Amalfi Coast and Capri. I was so glad to arrive in Pompeii, a place I had dreamed of visiting since I was young. Two hours was probably never going to be enough time to explore the whole ancient city, but I didnt mind.

Sleeping behind the ruins of Pompeii was the giant Mt Vesuvious the huge volcano that caused Pompeii to become one of the most famous archaelogical sights. The city of Pompeii was covered and preserved by the volcanic dust from the volcano erruption 2000 years ago. It was amazing to see that many buildings and mosaics were not destoyed and we could walk around visiting places like the local bakery and one of the 20 whore houses, still displaying erotic pictures on the walls (leaving nothing to imagination). One interesting fact I learnt was that a week before Mt Vesuvious erupted all the dogs fled the city, except for one which was chained up. Walking around I think we were all glad to see a lot of dogs wondering around (hopfully meaning the sleeping volcano wasn't about to erupt again).

The drive from Pompeii to Sorrento was amazing the view from high on the cliff was spectacular. We arrived at our camp had a cooling swim then headed into town with the group to have dinner and lemoncello tasting. Our guide showed us around the sights and introduced us to the 1 euro beer stand, the owner looking pleased that the entire group purchased at least one beer each. I think we all enjoyed the lemoncello, Dale and I preferred the white cream one and purchased a bottle to share later.

The next day we got up quite early and headed to the Isle of Capri. We decided to go on a two hour boat ride around the Island and into the blue grotto a magical sea cave. After our boat tour we decided to make our way up in the cable car to the town. We found a nice restaurant over looking the sea and the owner gave us a cheap deal with out service charges to eat there. We later discovered when we left that Paris Hilton, Kanye West and Maria Carry to name a few
Me and MandyMe and MandyMe and Mandy

At Pompeii
had all eaten at the same resturant. Capri was great!



The next day we got on the bus and drove towards Amalfi Coast. I found it terrifing on the bus driving around the 50km stretch of thin winding hills. The driver had to toot his horn at every bend. I was glad when we arrived in Amalfi for lunch and a swim. I was just going to go in the water for a quick dip but once I got into the clean, warm water I couldnit get out. If only I had my goggles then I could have had a clear view of the fish swimming under me.

What a great trip we had!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The crewThe crew
The crew

In Sorrento town
Blue GrottoBlue Grotto
Blue Grotto

In Capri


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb