Winding roads


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Campania » Amalfi
August 25th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Coast01 Coast01 Coast

The view out of the bus window.
Geo: 40.1638, 14.9105

Had another great sleep in. Am tempted to stay at the hostel all day and not move from the bean bag. But at midday, I decided I should get out there and see something. I walked uphill to the train station and caught the train to Sorrento and arrived 40 minutes later. Then waited for a bus to Amalfi. The bus drove along the coast- at a high speed. The roads were very winding and I could see the drop down to the water. We drove through Positano. The little towns along here are packed with tourists. Houses sit high on the hills, roads are narrow. An hour and a half later I arrived at Amalfi. By this stage my stomach wasn't feeling very well. I should have sat further up the front of the bus. As soon as I got off the bus I went in search of a late lunch. I ate a pizza at a restaurant on the beach. Then went for a walk around the town. There are heaps of souvenir shops here. Sat by the water for a bit and then lined up to catch the bus back. This ride was even longer than
02 Coast02 Coast02 Coast

View of the coast out of the bus window.
coming to Amalfi, we went through another town. 2 hours later I arrived back at Sorrento and then caught the train back to Portici. I didn't think that the Amalfi coast was that spectacular, seemed to be lacking beaches.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

03 Coast03 Coast
03 Coast

View from the bus.
04 Town04 Town
04 Town

Town up high on the cliff.
05 Amalfi05 Amalfi
05 Amalfi

The town of Amalfi.
06 Beach06 Beach
06 Beach

A sea of umbrellas.
07 Church07 Church
07 Church

A church in the middle of town.
08 Town square08 Town square
08 Town square

Town square view from the entrance to the church.
09 Colourful09 Colourful
09 Colourful

Colourful bell tower of the church.
10 Streets10 Streets
10 Streets

The little streets of Amalfi.
11 Church and tower11 Church and tower
11 Church and tower

The tower and the church which is made out of marble.
12 Boats12 Boats
12 Boats

Boats in the water.
13 Tower13 Tower
13 Tower

The bell tower in front of the cliff.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb