Automobiles and Meals and Internet Cost


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Calabria » Cosenza
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The cars we ve rented are miniature. Today we fit into a car similar to a Madza 3 but it was a Fiat. Four adults with two pieces of luggage each. No pick up and go in this car. It was the only rental available. Depending on how we rent the car, the cost vary. We rented a car for 75 euros for 24 hours and only allowed us the distance of 200 kilometers. 75 euros equates to approx. 115 American dollars. Gas is only 1.50 per litre. I think it is 4.5 litres makes a gallon or something like that. The gas stations have full service so we never have to get out of the car to get gas.

Late one night we stopped at McDonalds. I got a Filet o Fish, fries and a drink for 5.60 euros. That is almost 8.00 dollars for that meal. When we see a restaurant we try to stop because so far in Sourthern Italy we dont ever see a restaurant row. It is usually a quick deli. I have yet to see a meal that we could get chicken or steak. Maybe as our travels turn more to the city we will find that.

Right now the Internet at the Jolly Hotel in Naples is costing me 5 euros a half hour. Yesterday at an Internet Cafe we paid 1.5 euros for an hour. The Jolly Hotel is in the heart of the city yet a very luxurious hotel. It is costing 130 euros a night which is about $200 per night per room. It is difficult for us to find locations and maps that give us information so we just had to pay it. It is the first time I felt like I could relax here inside a hotel. And yes they gave us a toilet seat!!

Since carrying our luggage is an issue (I packed tightly and small), I havent bought souveniers. We will be in Rome tomorrow night and hope to start buying stuff.

My best investment towards this trip was my little tripod camping stool that weighs less than 2 pounds. It has been a life saver to me. Many times we have to wait and there is no where to sit. I recommend it to anyone. I bought it online for $11 before we left on our trip.

My knee seems swollen all the time and I feel like I am retaining water. I didnt realize how spoiled I really was. It is 11:12 at night and I decided to stay at the hotel to be on the Internet. Bob, Bertha and RJ took a taxi to go eat pizza (again). They took a taxi to give Bob a break from driving which is very stressful.

I will try to keep you posted when ever we see an Internet. Tomorrow morning we are going to see Pompeii and possibly a city tour in Naples. We are all well and miss you. Yvonne


Advertisement



Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb