Tutto


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Abruzzo » Gran Sasso
May 20th 2009
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Phrase of the week: non capisco, which means I don’t understand. Because I understand so little Italian…

Sorry about the lack of pictures, the internet doesn’t like me.

Do you remember the earthquake that hit Italy fairly recently? Well it was very close to this area, in this region, and it has caused a lot of damage. On this farm, there were minor cracks, and they lost many jars in the cellar, but the biggest damage was the loss of tourism- hence novisitors currently.

No too much new to report. I’ve pretty much been reading, sleeping, eating, and working, just like last time I updated you. I mowed the giants lawn here. It sucked. But I’m getting a work out and I’m doing something productive.

I cooked dinner one night : )All of the food is variation of the same ingredients- onion, garlic, carrots, zucchini, peppers, potatoes, olive oil, butter, bread, eggs, salt, and spices. They also have some meet and then jars of dried tomatoes, jams, etc. It would be very healthy except everything in drenched in olive oil. But that’s healthy, right? Anyway, it’s a simple life here, but marino complains about the work, in third person. “Marino tired” etc.

It’s beautiful here, still. I need to go on some more walks. They showed me some winter pictures last night with beautiful snow. I would not want to be here then. They have pet goat and donkey, Nina and Martina. Super cute.

Ah, the music. They have quite a collection. My favorite CD has a mix of American oldies from simon and garfunkle to the beach boys plus random Italian, french, and Spanish music. I don’t think they have a TV, but they have a stereo and a projector, and nature, so they don’t need one.

I suck at Italian, so I mostly speak English except for a few words here and there. I have to be careful about how I speak English though, no run on sentences. I think I’ll end up improving my English.

Okay, back to work. Take care!

Here’s another Italian work: cinque (pronounced cheenkwe) which means 5. I just like saying that one

Advertisement



20th May 2009

...
So you've mowed, but have you showed them your weedwacking skills? =)
5th June 2009

haha, thankfully I wasn't allowed to use it because it was "very dangerous"

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 18; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb