Hello from Cork!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
June 1st 2005
Published: June 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Aaah, I'm so excited to have the internet back again! Rosslare Harbour only has dial-up, so I haven't been able to get on yet.

I'm working on a organic farm and B&B in Rosslare Harbour, and it is LOVELY. When they said it was on the beach, I thought they meant like a 10 minute walk away - but no, it's actually on the beach. I look out my bedroom window and I see the Celtic Sea. There's this gorgeous lighthouse 7 miles out that blinks all night, and it's really lovely. And sheep. Lots of sheep. (I herded sheep yesterday... sheep are morons.)

The people running the B&B couldn't be nicer - and it's nice to have some work indoors. I take reservations, make tea and take it round on little tea-trays, clean up after breakfast, and change rooms. It's fun. Ooh, and I made friends with the grandma. We're totally BFF. We sit in the sitting room and talk with the guests over a plate of scones... I've made friends with a really nice retired Welsh couple. They travel all over... sounds exciting.

I'm in Cork now - the family had some things they needed to get done, and they're letting me just kind of hang out and explore for a few hours. It took a good hour to find an internet cafe, but I think I saw most of the city on the way, and I actually know my way around the city centre now! I mailed a letter to Megan, and I'm going to go buy a present for my little sister's birthday and mail it to her after I'm finished here.

What else... oh, the flight was awful. They delayed my first flight 4 different times, so I only had 2 minutes to sprint half-way across Philadelphia, the skeeziest airport in the world, before making it to my flight to Dublin, where I found out I was in the MIDDLE seat (ew). And then they delayed that flight for 3 hours anyway. 13 hours in airplanes... not good times. Customs was fun, though. I was kind of worried about it, but they didn't even look at me. I just walked by. Seriously, the guy did not give a single glance in my direction.

Oh, I almost forgot - I got my next farm! I'll be going out there next Thursday -
Graves by the seaGraves by the seaGraves by the sea

Old shipwrecks
out west in County Clare - it's a nice couple on a farmhouse, and they have a gypsy caravan they renovated for wwoofers. Fun times, right? It has a wood-burning stove, so as long as I can figure out how to use it, I'll be warm. They sounded really friendly over the phone, and there's some villages that are actually within walking distance, so that sounds great. (speaking of wood-burning stove.. the one here in Rosslare Harbour is a gas stove. It's kind of crazy. I've never used a gas stove before..)

There's a few major cultural differences, too. Tea is one of them. Tea-time is really nice, actually, with milk in the tea and nice jam and toast and everything.. I like it. America is missing out, I think. And Irish television is crazy - soap operas on all the time! And on BBC Wales, there's always creepy little children singing Andrew Lloyd Webber in Welsh. Can't figure out what's going on there. Just.. always creepy little children singing. I saw the Desperate Housewives season finale, though! That was so exciting.

I think that's it. I'm going to try to put the photos on here in a few minutes, so if you wait a bit, I might have some luck with that.

Wait - one more thing - I heard something on the news about Deep Throat being revealed? Or something? Who is he? I've been reading the Irish Examiner, but the Irish Examiner does not care because there's no articles.

Anyway, let me know if you get this... we'll see if this journal works!


Advertisement



1st June 2005

DEEPTHROAT!
YEs, I remember you being very excited about thinking that someone had revealed deepthoat. It was .... MARK FELT. I know. It didn't mean too much to me either. I'm so excited--they had something like tea in spain too, called "meriendas" and it was grand. It seems counterintuitive to tell americans to eat more, though. Hahah. HAVE FUN! - Marjorie
1st June 2005

Hey!
wow that's so exciting!! congrats haley!! - Whitney
1st June 2005

deep throat
turns out it was w. mark felt, a former FBI guy. i was disappointed. (he's not even dead yet!) there's an article on msn.com if you're looking for details. i once sprinted from opposite terminals in the chicago airport. with my mom. it was crazy. she called it "pulling an oj". i guess he did that in a hertz commercial back in the day. we didn't make our flight. i'm glad you did. :) don't underestimate sheep. wow. sounds amazing. i'm glad i'll be able to live vicariously through your travelblog this summer. enjoy your tea! - cammie
2nd June 2005

yay for Ireland!
I spent three months in Ireland last summer (in Waterford) - hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Tea time is definitely something I got hooked on too! (As for Deep Throat - FBI official was the one who told the Washington Post about Nixon and the whole Watergate scandal. Yeah, they probably don't care too much about that in Ireland.)
3rd June 2005

haley - it sounds like you're having a fantastic time there. the gypsy caravan sounds awesome. hope it turns out well. take lots of pictures and be sure to write often. scott - scott
26th June 2005

Haley, you are so cool! I hope you continue having an amazing time! Stay safe! David

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb